新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 新聞稿, 監管信息公告 | 2017-12-15

和黃醫藥在美國啟動呋喹替尼臨床試驗

2017年12 月15日:和黃醫藥今日宣佈在美國啟動呋喹替尼I期橋接臨床試驗。呋喹替尼是一種高選擇性強效口服血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)1,2及3的抑製劑。呋喹替尼在中國以結直腸癌、肺癌或胃癌為適應症的多項II期和III期臨床研究均達到了主要終點。此次啟動的是一項多中心開放標籤的I期臨床試驗,旨在評估呋喹替尼在美國晚期實體瘤患者中的安全性、耐受性和藥代動力學特性。首位受試者已於12月初接受給藥治療。該研究詳情可登錄clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT03251378查看。

 

關於呋喹替尼在中國的研發

結直腸癌:2017年6月,中國食品藥品監督管理總局(CFDA)受理呋喹替尼以晚期結直腸癌(CRC)為適應症的新藥上市申請;2017年9月,CFDA公佈因呋喹替尼具有明顯臨床價值而授予其優先審評的資格。呋喹替尼的新藥上市申請基於一項在中國成功完成的III期關鍵性註冊研究FRESCO。該研究共計納入416名CRC患者,其結果於2017年6月5日在美國臨床腫瘤學會年會上以口頭報告的形式公佈(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02314819)。呋喹替尼的3 項早期臨床研究為FRESCO研究的開展奠定了基礎,這3 項早期臨床研究包括:納入40名實體瘤患者的I期臨床研究、納入62名結直腸癌患者的Ib 期臨床研究以及納入71名結直腸癌患者的II期臨床研究。

肺癌:呋喹替尼以三線治療非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)為適應症的III期關鍵性臨床試驗FALUCA(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02691299)目前也正在中國展開,預計將納入約520名患者。該研究基於一項納入91名三線NSCLC患者的II期臨床試驗。另有一項II期臨床試驗也正在進行中,該試驗以呋喹替尼聯合易瑞沙® (吉非替尼)作為一線療法,治療晚期或轉移性NSCLC(clinicaltrials .gov註冊號NCT02976116)。

胃癌:呋喹替尼聯合泰素® (紫杉醇)以晚期胃癌或胃食管結合部(GEJ)腺癌為適應症的III期關鍵性臨床試驗FRUTIGA(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT03223376)已於2017年10月啟動,預計將納入超過500名患者。

在中國范圍內,呋喹替尼由和黃醫藥和禮來合作開發。

 

關於呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼(HMPL-013)是一種新型的高選擇性小分子候選藥物。臨床研究證實:通過一日一次的口服劑量即可有效的抑制血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR),且脫靶毒性低於其他靶向療法。呋喹替尼良好的耐受性以及無藥物間相互作用的特性,為其與其他癌症療法相聯合提供了理論支持,例如當前正在進行的呋喹替尼聯合化療或其他靶向治療的臨床研究。

癌症進入到晚期,腫瘤會分泌大量VEGFR的配體蛋白-血管內皮生長因子(VEGF),以促進腫瘤組織周圍形成大量的血管(血管生成),為腫瘤細胞的生長提供更多的血流、氧氣和營養。VEGF和其受體VEGFR在腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,而呋喹替尼可以抑制VEGF/VEGFR通路。對VEGF/VEGFR相關通路的抑制可以阻斷腫瘤新生血管形成,從而成為防止腫瘤增長和入侵的一種重要的治療策略。

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 15 Dec 2017

Chi-Med Initiates Fruquintinib U.S. Clinical Trials

London: Friday, December 15, 2017: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) has initiated the United States Phase I bridging clinical trial of fruquintinib. Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (“VEGFR”) 1, 2 and 3, that has met its primary endpoint in several Phase II and III clinical trials in China for the treatment of colorectal, lung and gastric cancers. The clinical study in the U.S. is a multi-center, open-label, Phase I clinical study to evaluate the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of fruquintinib in U.S. patients with advanced solid tumors. The first drug dose was administered earlier this month. Additional details about this study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT03251378.

About Fruquintinib Development in China

Colorectal cancer: The China Food and Drug Administration (“CFDA”) acknowledged acceptance of the New Drug Application (“NDA”) for fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with advanced colorectal cancer (“CRC”) in June 2017. Fruquintinib was subsequently awarded priority review status in view of its significant clinical value, according to a CFDA announcement in September 2017. The NDA is supported by data from the successful FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with CRC in China, which was highlighted in an oral presentation at the American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting held on June 5, 2017 (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02314819). The FRESCO study followed an initial Phase I trial in 40 solid tumor patients, a Phase Ib study in 62 CRC patients, and a Phase II clinical trial in 71 CRC patients.

Lung cancer: Fruquintinib is being studied in a Phase III pivotal trial in approximately 520 third-line non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) patients, known as the FALUCA study (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02691299), following a Phase II clinical trial in 91 third-line NSCLC patients. Fruquintinib is concurrently being studied in a Phase II study in combination with Iressa® (gefitinib) in first-line setting for patients with advanced or metastatic NSCLC (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02976116).

Gastric cancer: In October 2017, Chi-Med initiated a pivotal Phase III clinical trial of fruquintinib in combination with Taxol® (paclitaxel), known as the FRUTIGA study, for the treatment of over 500 patients with advanced gastric or gastroesophageal junction (GEJ) adenocarcinoma (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT03223376).

In China, fruquintinib is jointly developed with Eli Lilly and Company.

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib (HMPL-013) is a highly selective small molecule drug candidate that has been shown to inhibit VEGFR 24 hours a day via an oral dose, with lower off-target toxicities compared to other targeted therapies. Its tolerability, along with its clean drug-drug interaction profile demonstrated to date, may enable rational combination with other cancer therapies such as chemotherapy and other targeted therapies, which are being studied in our ongoing clinical trials of fruquintinib.

At an advanced stage, tumors secrete large amounts of vascular endothelial growth factor (“VEGF”), a protein ligand, to stimulate formation of excessive vasculature (angiogenesis) around the tumor to provide greater blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the tumor. VEGF and VEGFR play pivotal roles in tumor-related angiogenesis, and fruquintinib inhibits the VEGF/VEGFR pathway. This represents an important therapeutic strategy in blocking the development of new blood vessels essential for tumors to grow and invade.

About Chi‑Med

Chi‑Med is an innovative biopharmaceutical company which researches, develops, manufactures and sells pharmaceuticals and healthcare products. Its Innovation Platform, Hutchison MediPharma Limited, focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases for the global market. Its Commercial Platform manufactures, markets, and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products in China.

Chi‑Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 1). For more information, please visit: www.chi‑med.com.

Forward‑Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the clinical development of fruquintinib, plans to initiate clinical studies for fruquintinib, its expectations as to whether such studies would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of drug candidate fruquintinib to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval, the potential market of fruquintinib for a targeted indication and the sufficiency of funding. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President, Corporate Finance & Development
+852 2121 8200

U.K. & International Media Enquiries

Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7973 611 888 (Mobile)
anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk

U.S. Based Media Enquiries

Brad Miles, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@bmccommunications.com

Susan Duffy, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 499 8887 (Mobile)
sduffy@bmccommunications.com

Investor Relations

Matt Beck, The Trout Group
+1 (917) 415 1750 (Mobile)
mbeck@troutgroup.com

David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7967 566 919 (Mobile)
david.dible@citigatedewerogerson.com

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts
+44 (20) 7886 2500