新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 新聞稿, 監管信息公告 | 2017-10-31

和黃醫藥啟動呋喹替尼以二線胃癌為適應症的III期臨床研究FRUTIGA

2017年10月31日:和黃醫藥今日宣佈在中國啟動呋喹替尼聯合紫杉醇(泰素® )以晚期胃癌或胃食管結合部(GEJ)腺癌為適應症的關鍵性III期臨床研究,這項研究被命名為FRUTIGA 。呋喹替尼是一種高選擇性強效口服血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)1,2及3的抑製劑。這項隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心臨床研究受試者為既往接受一線標準化療後進展的晚期胃癌患者。晚期胃癌的治療,尤其在亞洲人群中,目前尚存在著巨大的未獲滿足的醫療需求。對於既往接受5-氟尿嘧啶(5-FU)和含鉑雙藥組合化療失敗的患者,可供選擇的治療方案非常有限。中國每年胃癌發病數約為679,100例,死亡數約為498,000例。

“ 呋喹替尼可以高選擇性地抑制VEGFR 1,2及3,展現出了良好的與化療聯合的潛力,這種聯合療法是針對晚期胃癌的一種創新性的嘗試。”和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司首席執行官賀雋先生表示,“目前呋喹替尼以三線結直腸癌(CRC)為適應症的新藥上市申請(NDA)正在審評中,以三線非小細胞肺癌為適應症的III期臨床研究也將要完成入組。我們非常高興地看到,呋喹替尼以二線胃癌為適應症的臨床研究也進入了最後的階段。胃癌的二線治療涉及到的病患人數非常多,中國的胃癌患者對新的二線治療方案的需求極其急迫。”

 

關於FRUTIGA研究

FRUTIGA研究是一項隨機雙盲III期臨床試驗,旨在評估呋喹替尼聯合紫杉醇對比紫杉醇單藥化療治療二線晚期胃癌或GEJ腺癌的療效和安全性。研究計劃納入500名患者,目標受試者為經組織學或細胞學確診為晚期胃癌或GEJ腺癌,且對含有鉑類和氟尿嘧啶的一線標準化療無應答的患者。受試者將以1:1的比例接受呋喹替尼聯合紫杉醇或安慰劑聯合紫杉醇的治療,並根據胃癌vs. GEJ腺癌和ECOG 評分等因素進行分層。這項研究的安全性和療效數據將由獨立的數據監察委員會(IDMC)進行評審。

研究的主要療效終點為總生存期(OS)。次要療效終點包括無進展生存期(PFS,依據RECIST 1.1 進行評估)、客觀緩解率(ORR)、疾病控制率(DCR)、疾病緩解時間和生存質量評分(依據EORTC QLQ-C30,3.0版進行評估)。研究也將探索與呋喹替尼抗腫瘤活性相關的生物標誌物。

該研究詳情可登陸clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT03223376查看。

呋喹替尼聯合紫杉醇(泰素® )以二線晚期胃癌為適應症的多中心開放標籤Ib期劑量探索/ 劑量擴展臨床試驗(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02415023)的研究結果為FRUTIGA的開展提供了基礎。該項Ib期臨床試驗的研究結果已在2017年1月召開的美國臨床腫瘤學會胃腸道腫瘤論壇上公佈。該項Ib期研究共入組32名受試者,其中可進行療效評估的有28名,ORR 為36%,DCR 為68%。在呋喹替尼的II期臨床試驗推薦劑量(RP2D)下,50%的患者PFS≥16週,50%的患者OS≥7個月。聯合方案在RP2D下的耐受性與預期一致,常見的與治療相關的3 級及以上不良事件(AEs)包括中性粒細胞減少(41%)、白細胞減少(28 %)、血紅蛋白下降(6%)和手足綜合徵(6%)。

 

關於胃癌

根據Frost & Sullivan公司的估計,全球每年新增胃癌病例數約為1百萬。2015年中國新增胃癌病例數約佔全球新增胃癌病例數的44%。根據全國腫瘤登記中心估計,2015年中國胃癌發病數約為679,100例,死亡數約為498,000例。

胃癌引起的死亡病例數在各項癌症中排名第三。胃癌在確診時常常已經發展到晚期階段,預後較差,中位OS不超過12個月。雖然在中國已有在研的胃癌靶向療法,化療仍是胃癌治療的主要手段,但化療帶來的生存獲益較為有限。因此,目前亟需針對胃癌的新型靶向治療選擇。

 

關於呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼(HMPL-013)是一種新型的高選擇性小分子候選藥物。臨床研究證實:通過一日一次的口服劑量即可有效的抑制血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR),且脫靶毒性低於其他靶向療法。呋喹替尼良好的耐受性以及無藥物間相互作用的特性,為其與其他癌症療法相聯合提供了理論支持,例如當前正在進行的呋喹替尼聯合化療或其他靶向治療的臨床研究。

癌症進入到晚期,腫瘤會分泌大量VEGFR的配體蛋白-血管內皮生長因子(VEGF),以促進腫瘤組織周圍形成大量的血管(血管生成),為腫瘤細胞的生長提供更多的血流、氧氣和營養。VEGF和其受體VEGFR在腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,而呋喹替尼可以抑制VEGF/VEGFR通路。對VEGF/VEGFR相關通路的抑制可以阻斷腫瘤新生血管形成,從而成為防止腫瘤增長和入侵的一種重要的治療策略。

目前呋喹替尼由和黃醫藥和禮來在中國范圍內合作開發。

 

呋喹替尼以其他腫瘤類型為適應症的研發

2017年6月,中國食品藥品監督管理總局(CFDA)受理呋喹替尼以晚期結直腸癌為適應症的新藥上市申請;2017年9月,CFDA公佈因呋喹替尼具有明顯臨床價值而授予其優先審評的資格。FRESCO研究的成功為呋喹替尼的新藥上市申請提供了有力的數據支持。FRESCO研究是一項在中國完成的III期關鍵性註冊研究,共計納入416名CRC患者,研究結果於2017年6月5日在美國臨床腫瘤學會年會上以口頭報告的形式公佈(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02314819)。

除FRUTIGA和FRESCO兩項III期臨床研究以外,呋喹替尼以非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)為適應症的III期關鍵性臨床試驗FALUCA(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02691299)目前也正在中國展開;另有一項II期臨床試驗也正在進行中,該試驗以呋喹替尼聯合易瑞沙® (吉非替尼)作為一線療法,治療晚期或轉移性NSCLC(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02976116)。呋喹替尼在美國的數項新研究(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT03251378 ),以及與其他抗腫瘤藥物聯合用藥的多項探索性研究正在計劃中。

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 31 Oct 2017

Chi Med Initiates FRUTIGA, a Phase III Trial of Fruquintinib in Second-Line Gastric Cancer

London: Tuesday, October 31, 2017: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi‑Med”) (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) has initiated FRUTIGA, a pivotal Phase III clinical trial of fruquintinib in combination with paclitaxel (Taxol®) for the treatment in advanced gastric or gastroesophageal junction (“GEJ”) adenocarcinoma patients in China. Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (“VEGFR”) 1, 2 and 3. This randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter trial is being conducted in patients with advanced gastric cancer who have progressed after first-line standard chemotherapy. Advanced gastric cancer is a major medical need, particularly in Asian populations, with limited treatment options for patients who have failed first-line standard chemotherapy with 5-fluorouracil (5-FU) and platinum doublets. For gastric cancer, there are approximately 679,100 new cases and 498,000 deaths in China each year.[i]

“Fruquintinib was designed to be a highly selective inhibitor of VEGFR 1, 2 and 3, which has shown the potential ability to combine with chemotherapy – a novel approach in the treatment of advanced gastric cancer,” said Christian Hogg, Chief Executive Officer of Chi-Med. “With fruquintinib’s New Drug Application (“NDA”) in third-line colorectal cancer (“CRC”) under review and its Phase III trial in third-line non-small cell lung cancer nearing full enrollment, we are excited to now also enter the final phase of development in second-line gastric cancer, a very large indication in which there is significant patient need for new treatment options in China.”

About FRUTIGA

Over 500 patients will be enrolled into FRUTIGA, a randomized, double-blind, Phase III trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel compared with paclitaxel monotherapy for second-line treatment of advanced gastric or GEJ adenocarcinoma. The trial will enroll patients with disease that has been confirmed through histology or cytology and who did not respond to first-line standard chemotherapy containing platinum and fluorouracil. All subjects will receive fruquintinib or placebo combined with paclitaxel. Patients will be randomized at a 1:1 ratio and stratified according to factors such as stomach vs. GEJ tumors and ECOG performance status. An Independent Data Monitoring Committee (IDMC) will be established to review safety and efficacy data.

The Primary efficacy endpoint is overall survival (“OS”). Secondary efficacy endpoints include progression-free survival (“PFS”, as defined by RECIST 1.1), objective response rate (“ORR”), disease control rate (“DCR”), duration of response, and quality-of-life score (EORTC QLQ-C30, version 3.0). Biomarkers related to the antitumor activity of fruquintinib will also be explored.

Additional details about this study can be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT03223376.

FRUTIGA was initiated following the results of an open label, multi-center Phase Ib dose finding/expansion study of fruquintinib in combination with paclitaxel (Taxol®) in second-line patients with advanced gastric cancer (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02415023). Results were presented at the American Society of Clinical Oncology Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium in January 2017. A total of 32 patients were enrolled in the study and 28 of 32 patients were evaluable for efficacy, with an ORR rate of 36% and a DCR of 68%. At the fruquintinib recommended Phase II dose (“RP2D”), ≥16 week PFS rate was 50% and ≥7 month OS was 50%. Tolerability of the RP2D combination was as expected with common treatment related Grade ≥3 adverse events (AEs) being neutropenia (41%), leukopenia (28%), decreased hemoglobin (6%), and hand-foot syndrome (6%).

About Gastric Cancer

Every year, it is estimated that approximately one million new patients around the world are diagnosed with gastric cancer, according to Frost & Sullivan, and in 2015 China represented approximately 44% of all newly diagnosed gastric cancer cases worldwide. In 2015, there were an estimated 679,100 incidence gastric cancer cases and 498,000 mortality cases in China, according to the National Central Cancer Registry of China.

Gastric cancer is the third most lethal cancer worldwide. As it is often diagnosed at an advanced stage, prognosis is poor with a median OS of less than 12 months. Although targeted therapy is under development in China, chemotherapy remains the mainstay of treatment for gastric cancer patients and confers only a moderate survival advantage. Accordingly, we see a high medical need for new targeted treatment options.

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib (HMPL-013) is a highly selective small molecule drug candidate that has been shown to inhibit VEGFR 24 hours a day via an oral dose, with lower off-target toxicities compared to other targeted therapies. Its tolerability, along with its clean drug-drug interaction profile demonstrated to date, may enable rational combination with other cancer therapies such as in our ongoing clinical trials of fruquintinib in combination with chemotherapy and targeted therapy.

At an advanced stage, tumors secrete large amounts of VEGF, a protein ligand, to stimulate formation of excessive vasculature (angiogenesis) around the tumor to provide greater blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the tumor. VEGF and VEGFR play pivotal roles in tumor-related angiogenesis, and fruquintinib inhibits the VEGF/VEGFR pathway. This represents an important therapeutic strategy in blocking the development of new blood vessels essential for tumors to grow and invade.

Fruquintinib is currently under joint development in China by Chi-Med and its partner Eli Lilly and Company.

About Fruquintinib Development in Other Cancer Types

The China Food and Drug Administration (“CFDA”) acknowledged acceptance of the NDA for fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with advanced colorectal cancer in June 2017, and was subsequently awarded priority review status in view of its significant clinical value, according to the CFDA announcement in September 2017. The NDA is supported by data from the successful FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with CRC in China, which was highlighted in an oral presentation at the American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting on June 5, 2017 (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02314819).

In addition to the FRUTIGA and FRESCO Phase III trials, fruquintinib is being studied in China in a Phase III pivotal trial in non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”), known as FALUCA (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02691299); and a Phase II study using fruquintinib combined with Iressa® (gefitinib) in the first-line setting for patients with advanced or metastatic NSCLC (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02976116). Other studies currently being planned include new studies in the United States (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT03251378), and certain exploratory studies in combination with other oncology agents.

About Chi‑Med

Chi‑Med is an innovative biopharmaceutical company which researches, develops, manufactures and sells pharmaceuticals and healthcare products. Its Innovation Platform, Hutchison MediPharma Limited, focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases for the global market. Its Commercial Platform manufactures, markets, and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products in China.

Chi‑Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 0001). For more information, please visit: www.chi‑med.com.

Forward‑Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the clinical development of fruquintinib, plans to initiate clinical studies for fruquintinib, its expectations as to whether such studies would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of drug candidate fruquintinib to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval, the potential market of fruquintinib for a targeted indication and the sufficiency of funding. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, SVP Corporate Finance & Development
+852 2121 8200

U.K. & International Media Enquiries

Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7973 611 888 (Mobile)
anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk

U.S. Based Media Enquiries

Brad Miles, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@bmccommunications.com

Susan Duffy, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 499 8887 (Mobile)
sduffy@bmccommunications.com

Investor Relations

Matt Beck, The Trout Group
+1 (917) 415 1750 (Mobile)
mbeck@troutgroup.com

David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7967 566 919 (Mobile)
david.dible@citigatedewerogerson.com

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[i]  CA Cancer J. Clin., 2016, 66: 115-132.