新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 新聞稿, 監管信息公告 | 2017-03-10

和黃醫藥在歐洲神經內分泌腫瘤學會年會上公佈索凡替尼治療神經內分泌瘤Ib /II期臨床試驗結果

2017 年3 月10 日:和黃醫藥在2017 年3 月8 日至10 日於西班牙巴塞羅那舉行的第14 屆歐洲神經內分泌腫瘤學會年會(ENETS)上公佈了索凡替尼正在進行的治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的Ib /II 期臨床試驗結果。索凡替尼是一種新型口服血管免疫激酶抑製劑,能夠有效地抑制與VEGFR, FGFR 與CSF-1R 靶點相關的酪氨酸激酶活性,這三種酪氨酸激酶受體參與了腫瘤新生血管的生成以及免疫逃逸。索凡替尼在中國和美國另有5 項臨床研究正在進行中,包括治療神經內分泌瘤的兩項III 期臨床試驗(SANET-p 和SANET-ep),一項治療甲狀腺癌的的II 期臨床試驗以及一項治療膽管癌的II 期臨床試驗。

 

該研究最新的研究結果如下:

公佈方式: 口頭報告
標題: 索凡替尼治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的開放標籤Ib /II 期臨床試驗(NCT02267967 )
報告人: 徐建明博士
目錄: 2B :醫學療法和目標
時間: 2017 年3 月9 日,星期四,11 :10 歐洲中部時間
 

報告總結

目前索凡替尼正在進行的Ib / II期試驗是一項開放標籤的單臂II期研究,旨在評估索凡替尼單藥治療晚期1 級或2 級神經內分泌瘤患者的療效和安全性。2014年11月至2016年1月期間,在中國7個臨床中心共入組了81名受試者(41例胰腺神經內分泌瘤和40例胰腺外神經內分泌瘤)。大多數受試者疾病等級為2 級(79%),此前的系統治療失敗(65%)。截至2017年1月20日,13名受試者證實得到部分緩解(PR),61名受試者疾病穩定(SD),而客觀緩解率(ORR)為16.0%(13/81例),胰腺神經內分泌瘤中為17.1%(7/41例),胰腺外神經內分泌瘤中為15.0%(6/40例),總體疾病控制率(DCR)為91.4%。中位總體無進展生存期(PFS)數據尚未成熟,但估計總體為16.6個月(95%CI:13.4,19.4),其中胰腺神經內分泌瘤中位無進展生存期較長,估計為19.4個月,而胰腺外神經內分泌瘤為13.4個月。值得一提的是,有12名受試者在此前接受靶向療法(例如Sutent ®和Afinitor ®)治療後疾病進展,但全部受益於索凡替尼的治療(3例部分緩解,9例疾病穩定)。索凡替尼總體耐受良好,3 級及以上的不良事件發生率為>5%包括,高血壓(31%),蛋白尿(14%),高尿酸血症(10%),高甘油三酯血症(9%),腹瀉7%)和ALT升高(6%)。該研究的詳情請登陸clinicaltrials.gov , 檢索NCT02267967查看。

索凡替尼治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的I期和II期臨床研究結果顯示出良好藥效和耐受性,受此鼓舞,兩項III期隨機臨床試驗正在進行中。

詳細的發佈內容可參見www.chi-med.com/news/。更多關於歐洲神經內分泌腫瘤學會(ENETS)的信息請登陸enetsconference.org

 

關於神經內分泌瘤

神經內分泌瘤是起源於神經內分泌細胞的腫瘤,可以發生在體內很多部位,但最常見的是消化道及呼吸道的神經內分泌瘤。神經內分泌瘤因腫瘤小,患者症狀各異,導致診斷難度大。2016年,美國大約有20,000例神經內分泌腫瘤新發病例,患者總數約為148,000例。

神經內分泌瘤可以根據腫瘤起源的部位進行分類,其中胰臟神經內分泌瘤佔神經內分泌瘤患者總數少於10%,而胰腺外神經內分泌瘤則包括所有其他非胰腺神經內分泌瘤,包括肺,淋巴和胃腸道神經內分泌瘤。迄今為止,神經內分泌瘤患者的治療方案有限;舒尼替尼和依維莫司是僅有的兩種獲批的針對神經內分泌瘤的靶向療法,舒尼替尼用於治療胰腺神經內分泌瘤,而依維莫司用於治療胰腺,胃腸道或肺源的神經內分泌瘤,但廣譜神經內分泌瘤患者仍缺乏有效的治療手段。

 

關於索凡替尼

索凡替尼是一種新型口服血管免疫激酶抑製劑,能夠有效地抑制與VEGFR, FGFR與CSF-1R靶點相關的酪氨酸激酶活性,這三種酪氨酸激酶受體參與了腫瘤新生血管的生成以及免疫逃逸。通過抑制VEGFR信號通路能夠阻斷腫瘤組織周圍過度的脈管系統的生成(血管生成),從而切斷了腫瘤快速增長所需營養及氧氣的供給。抗VEGFR 療法可能會加劇FGFR信號通路的異常激活,從而導致因腫瘤增長而產生的疾病進展,腫瘤周圍的血管生成以及髓系衍生抑制細胞的形成。抑制CSF-1R信號通路可阻斷腫瘤相關巨噬細胞的活化,巨噬細胞參與抑製針對腫瘤的免疫應答。

現階段,除了治療神經內分泌瘤的Ib /II期臨床試驗,索凡替尼在中國和美國另有5 項臨床研究在進行中,包括治療神經內分泌瘤的兩項III期臨床試驗(SANET-p和SANET-ep),一項治療甲狀腺癌的的II期臨床試驗以及一項治療膽管癌的II期臨床試驗。

SANET-p 試驗是一項隨機雙盲安慰劑對照多中心的關鍵III期註冊研究,計劃在中國招募並治療190例疾病已進展,局部晚期或遠處轉移且缺乏有效療法的病理性輕度或中度胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者。該研究的主要終點是無進展生存期(PFS),次要終點包括客觀緩解率(ORR),疾病控制率(DCR),緩解持續時間(DoR ),響應時間和總生存期(OS)。SANET-p研究的詳細內容可登錄clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT02589821查看。SANET-ep 試驗與SANET-p 試驗相似,計劃在中國招募並治療約270例非胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者。SANET-ep研究的詳細內容可登陸clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT02588170查看。

和黃醫藥正在中國進行的索凡替尼一項開放標籤的II期臨床試驗以50名局部晚期或轉移性放射性碘難治性分化型甲狀腺癌或甲狀腺髓樣癌患者為目標受試者,旨在評估該藥的藥效和安全性。該試驗的主要終點是客觀緩解率(ORR),次要終點包括安全性,耐受性,疾病控制率,響應時間以及無進展生存期。關於該研究的更多信息請登陸clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT02614495查看。

同時,索凡替尼的另一項中國開放標籤II期臨床試驗以32名經歷過一輪系統治療失敗的晚期或轉移性膽管癌患者為目標受試者,旨在評估該藥的藥效和安全性。該試驗的主要終點是接受治療16週時的無進展生存期,次要終點包括客觀緩解率,疾病控制率,緩解持續時間,無進展生存期,總生存期和安全性。關於該研究的更多信息請登陸clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT02966821查看。

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 10 Mar 2017

Chi-Med Presented Sulfatinib Neuroendocrine Tumors Phase Ib/II Results at the 14th Annual Conference of the European Neuroendocrine Tumor Society

Press Release

London: Friday, March 10, 2017: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) presented data from the ongoing Phase Ib/II clinical trial of sulfatinib in patients with advanced neuroendocrine tumors (“NET”) at the 14th Annual Conference of the European Neuroendocrine Tumor Society (“ENETS”), held in Barcelona, Spain from March 8 to 10, 2017.  Sulfatinib is an oral, novel angio-immunokinase inhibitor that selectively targets vascular endothelial growth factor receptor (“VEGFR”), fibroblast growth factor receptor (“FGFR”) and colony-stimulating factor-1 receptor (“CSF-1R”), three key tyrosine kinase receptors involved in tumor angiogenesis and immune evasion.  Five other sulfatinib clinical trials are underway in China and the U.S., including two Phase III studies in NET patients (SANET-p and SANET-ep), one Phase II study in thyroid cancer patients and one Phase II study in biliary tract cancer patients.

The most recent results of the study were presented in detail as follows:

Presentation Type: Oral Presentation, Presidential Abstract – Plenary Meeting Room

Title: An Open-Label Phase Ib/II Study of Sulfatinib in Patients with Advanced Neuroendocrine Tumors (NCT02267967)

Presented by: Dr. JianMing Xu

Session: Session 2B: Medical Therapies and Goals

Date & Time: Thursday, March 9, 2017, 11:10 AM CET

 

Presentation summary

The current Phase Ib/II trial is an open-label, single-arm Phase II study to assess the efficacy and safety of sulfatinib monotherapy in patients with advanced grade 1 or 2 advanced NET.  81 patients (41 pancreatic NET and 40 extra-pancreatic NET) were enrolled between November 2014 and January 2016, in seven clinical centers across China.  The majority of patients had grade 2 disease (79%) and had failed previous systemic treatments (65%).  As of January 20, 2017, 13 patients had confirmed partial response (“PR”) and 61 patients had stable disease (“SD”) corresponding to an overall objective response rate (“ORR”) of 16.0% (13/81), with 17.1% (7/41) in pancreatic NET and 15.0% (6/40) in extra-pancreatic NET, and an overall disease control rate (“DCR”) of 91.4%.  Median overall progression-free survival (“PFS”) has not been reached, but is estimated to be 16.6 months (95% CI: 13.4, 19.4) with longer median PFS in pancreatic NET estimated at 19.4 months and shorter median PFS in extra-pancreatic NET estimated at 13.4 months.  Importantly, there were 12 patients who had progressed after treatment with targeted therapies (e.g. Sutent® and Afinitor®) and all benefited from sulfatinib treatment (3 PRs and 9 SDs).  Sulfatinib was well tolerated with Grade ≥3 adverse events (AEs), with >5% incidence, regardless of causality of hypertension (31%), proteinuria (14%), hyperuricemia (10%), hypertriglyceridemia (9%), diarrhea (7%) and ALT increase (6%).  Additional details about this study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02267967.

Based on the promising Phase I and Phase II efficacy data and tolerability in patients with advanced NETs, two randomized Phase III trials are ongoing.

The presentation is available at www.chi-med.com/news/.  Further information about ENETS is available at enetsconference.org.

 

 

About NET

NET arises from neuroendocrine cells and develop predominantly in the digestive or respiratory tracts but can also occur in many areas of the body.  Diagnosis of NET is difficult due to the small tumor size and diverse origination with patients showing varied or no symptoms.  There were approximately 20,000 new cases of NET and a cumulative prevalence of approximately 148,000 cases in the U.S. in 2016[1].

NETs can be classified according to tumor origin, as pancreatic NET representing less than 10% of the total NET patients, and extra-pancreatic NET comprising all other non-pancreatic NETs including lung, lymph and gastrointestinal tract NETs.  To date, treatment options for NET patients are limited; sunitinib and everolimus are the only two approved targeted-therapies for NET, sunitinib for pancreatic NET and everolimus for NET of pancreatic, gastrointestinal or lung origin, while there is no such a choice for broad spectrum NET patients.

 

About Sulfatinib

Sulfatinib is an oral, novel angio-immunokinase inhibitor that selectively inhibits the tyrosine kinase activity associated with VEGFR, FGFR and CSF-1R, three key tyrosine kinase receptors involved in tumor angiogenesis and immune evasion.  Inhibition of the VEGFR signaling pathway can act to stop angiogenesis, the growth of the vasculature around the tumor, and thereby starve the tumor of the nutrients and oxygen it needs to grow rapidly.  Aberrant activation of the FGFR signaling pathway, which can be increased by anti-VEGFR therapy treatment, is shown to be associated with cancer progression by promoting tumor growth, angiogenesis and formation of the myeloid derived suppressor cells.  Inhibition of the CSF-1R signaling pathway blocks the activation of tumor-associated macrophages, which are involved in suppressing immune responses against tumors.

In addition to the current Phase Ib/II NET trial, five sulfatinib clinical trials are underway in China and the U.S., including two Phase III studies in NET patients (SANET-p and SANET-ep), one Phase II study in thyroid cancer patients and one Phase II study in biliary tract cancer patients.

The SANET-p trial is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-center, Phase III pivotal registration trial to treat about 190 pathologically low or intermediate grade pancreatic NET patients in China whose disease has progressed, locally advanced or distant metastasized and for whom there is no effective therapy.  The primary endpoint is PFS, with secondary endpoints including ORR, DCR, duration of response (“DoR”), time to response and overall survival (“OS”).  Additional details of the SANET-p study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02589821.  The SANET-ep trial is similar to the SANET-p trial and is targeted at treating about 270 non-pancreatic NET patients in China.  Additional details of the SANET-ep study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02588170.

Chi-Med is conducting an open-label Phase II clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of sulfatinib in about 50 patients with locally advanced or metastatic radioactive iodine-refractory differentiated thyroid cancer or medullary thyroid cancer in China.  The primary endpoint is ORR, with secondary endpoints including safety and tolerability, DCR, time to response and PFS.  Additional details of this study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02614495.

Chi-Med is also conducting an open-label Phase II clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of sulfatinib in about 32 patients with advanced or metastatic biliary tract cancer who failed one prior systemic therapy in China.  The primary endpoint is PFS at 16 weeks, with secondary endpoints including the ORR, DCR, DoR, PFS, OS and safety.  Additional details of this study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02966821.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is an innovative biopharmaceutical company which researches, develops, manufactures and sells pharmaceuticals and healthcare products.  Its Innovation Platform, Hutchison MediPharma Limited, focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases for the global market.  Its Commercial Platform manufactures, markets, and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products in China.

Chi-Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 0001).  For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the clinical development of sulfatinib, including plans for further clinical studies of sulfatinib in NET, its expectations as to whether such studies would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies.  Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties.  Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of drug candidate sulfatinib to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval, the potential market of sulfatinib for a targeted indication and the sufficiency of funding.  Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.  For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise. 

 

CONTACTS

Christian Hogg, CEO
+852 2121 8200

U.K. and International Media Enquiries

Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7973 611 888 (Mobile)
anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk

U.S. Based Media Enquiries

Brad Miles, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@bmccommunications.com

Susan Duffy, BMC Communications
+1 (917) 499 8887 (Mobile)
sduffy@bmccommunications.com

Investor Relations

Matt Beck, The Trout Group
+1 (917) 415 1750 (Mobile)
mbeck@troutgroup.com

David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson
+44 7967 566 919 (Mobile)
david.dible@citigatedr.co.uk

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] According to Frost & Sullivan.