新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 新聞稿, 監管信息公告 | 2018-11-29

和黃醫藥就評估索凡替尼和呋喹替尼 與PD-1檢查點抑製劑的聯合療法簽訂多項合作協議

2018年11月29日,星期四:和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「Chi-Med」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)簽訂了4項合作協議,對和黃醫藥的索凡替尼(surufatinib, 亦稱HMPL-012或sulfatinib)和呋喹替尼(fruquintinib)與免疫檢查點抑製劑聯合用藥的安全性、耐受性和療效進行評估。積極探索公司研發管線上的候選藥物與其他抗癌療法潛在的協同作用是和黃醫藥的重要戰略之一。免疫聯合療法方面,除了此次公佈的4項合作以外,和黃醫藥高選擇性c-Met抑製劑沃利替尼(savolitinib)與阿斯利康的免疫檢查點抑製劑durvalumab(Imfinzi®) 聯合用藥的研究已在進行中。

 

今日,和黃醫藥正式宣布開始在多種實體瘤中開發其血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)抑製劑索凡替尼和呋喹替尼與多種程序性細胞死亡蛋白-1(PD-1 )的單克隆抗體組成的聯合療法:

  • 一項全球性合作以評估索凡替尼與特瑞普利單抗(JS001)聯用,特瑞普利單抗是一種由上海君實生物醫藥科技股份有限公司開發的PD-1單克隆抗體;
  • 一項全球性合作以評估呋喹替尼與信迪利單抗(IBI308)聯用,信迪利單抗是一種由信達生物製藥(蘇州)有限公司開發的PD-1單克隆抗體;
  • 一項在中國的合作以評估索凡替尼與HX008聯用,HX008是一種由泰州翰中生物醫藥有限公司開發的PD-1單克隆抗體;以及
  • 一項在中國的合作以評估呋喹替尼與杰諾單抗(GB226)聯用,杰諾單抗是一種由嘉和生物醫藥有限公司開發的PD-1單克隆抗

 

2017年全球抗血管生成藥物市場超過180億美金,應用於治療約30種不同的腫瘤類型,上述聯合療法將在實體瘤領域內尋求不同的初始適應症。

 

“最近在實體瘤治療藥物方面的創新主要集中在靶向治療和免疫療法上,作為單藥治療,它們都能改善患者的臨床結局”Chi-Med首席執行官賀雋先生表示,“我們相信,腫瘤治療的未來方向將越來越多地集中在聯合療法上,利用多種作用機制來對抗腫瘤。我們獨特的新一代抗血管生成VEGFR抑製劑具有高選擇性和良好的耐受性,是與PD-1 / L1單克隆抗體等免疫療法聯合使用的理想候選藥物,有望幫助這些免疫療法為更多的患者帶來更加長效的獲益。”

 

和黃醫藥開展的概念驗證研究已證明索凡替尼及呋喹替尼與其他激酶抑製劑或化學療法聯用帶來的獲益。

 

索凡替尼(surufatinib, 亦稱HMPL-012或sulfatinib)是一種新型的口服血管免疫激酶抑製劑,可通過抑制VEGFR和成纖維細胞生長因子受體(FGFR)來抑制血管生成,索凡替尼也可抑制集落刺激因子-1受體(CSF-1R),通過抑制CSF-1R可調節腫瘤相關巨噬細胞,促進機體對腫瘤細胞的免疫應答。因為具有這種同時抑制血管生成和腫瘤免疫逃逸的作用機制,索凡替尼可能非常適合與其他免疫療法聯用。索凡替尼單藥正在中國進行的臨床試驗已進入後期,並於2018年7月在美國啟動了概念驗證性臨床試驗。

 

呋喹替尼(fruquintinib)是一種高選擇性強效口服VEGFR抑製劑,其獨特的激酶選擇性已被證明可降低脫靶毒性,從而使其可與其他藥物聯合使用。呋喹替尼於2018年9月首先在中國獲批用於治療結直腸癌,目前正在針對肺癌和胃癌開展多項後期臨床試驗,包括與紫杉醇(泰素®)等化療藥物和其他激酶抑製劑如吉非替尼(易瑞沙®)等聯合療法的臨床研究,並正在美國進行一項I期臨床試驗。

 

 

關於Chi-Med及 和記黃埔醫藥

和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「Chi-Med」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)是一家創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於藥品的研究、開發、生產和銷售。和記黃埔醫藥(上海)有限公司是Chi-Med的創新藥研發平台,現有一支約400人的研發團隊,專注於研發和商業開發治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病的靶向創新藥物,目前共有8個抗癌類候選藥物進入臨床階段,正在全球開展臨床研究。 Chi-Med的商業平台負責處方藥和健康類消費品在中國的生產和營銷,銷售網絡覆蓋中國廣大地區醫院。

 

總部位於中國香港,在倫敦證券交易所(AIM)和美國納斯達克全球精選市場均已上市,由長江和記實業有限公司(SEHK:1)持有多數股權。了解更多詳情請訪問:www.chi-med.com

 

 

聯繫方式

投資者諮詢

李健鴻,資深副總裁,企業融資及發展 +852 2121 8200
David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson

+44 7967 566 919 (手機)

david.dible@citigatedewerogerson.com

Xuan Yang, Solebury Trout +1 (415) 971 9412(手機)
xyang@troutgroup.com

媒體諮詢

 
英國及歐洲 – Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson +44 7973 611 888(手機)
anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk
美洲 – Brad Miles, Solebury Trout +1 (917) 570 7340(手機)
bmiles@troutgroup.com

中國香港及亞洲其他地區

(不含中國大陸地區)– Joseph Chi Lo, Brunswick

+852 9850 5033(手機)
jlo@brunswickgroup.com
                                              Zhou Yi, Brunswick +852 9783 6894(手機)
yzhou@brunswickgroup.com
中國大陸地區 – Sam Shen, Edelman +86 136 7179 1029 (手機)
sam.shen@edelman.com

任命保薦人

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts, Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited +44 (20) 7886 2500

 

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

Chi-Med Enters into Multiple Collaborations to Evaluate Combinations of Surufatinib and Fruquintinib with PD-1 Checkpoint Inhibitors // Chi-Med
News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 29 Nov 2018

Chi-Med Enters into Multiple Collaborations to Evaluate Combinations of Surufatinib and Fruquintinib with PD-1 Checkpoint Inhibitors

London: Thursday, November 29, 2018: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) entered into four collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of Chi-Med’s surufatinib (HMPL-012 or sulfatinib) and fruquintinib in combination with checkpoint inhibitors. It is an important part of Chi-Med’s strategy to explore the potential synergies of its drug candidates in combination with other anti-cancer treatments. These four new immunotherapy collaborations add to our ongoing studies combining savolitinib, Chi-Med’s highly selective c-Met inhibitor, with AstraZeneca PLC’s checkpoint inhibitor, durvalumab (Imfinzi®).

Today, Chi-Med is announcing the first steps to develop its vascular endothelial growth factor receptor (“VEGFR”) inhibitors, surufatinib and fruquintinib, in combination with various programmed cell death protein-1 (“PD-1”) monoclonal antibodies in several solid tumor settings:

  • A global collaboration to evaluate the combination of surufatinib with toripalimab (JS001), a PD-1 monoclonal antibody being developed by Shanghai Junshi Biosciences Co. Ltd.;
  • A global collaboration to evaluate the combination of fruquintinib with sintilimab (IBI308), a PD-1 monoclonal antibody being developed by Innovent Biologics (Suzhou) Co. Ltd.;
  • A collaboration in China to evaluate the combination of surufatinib with HX008, a PD-1 monoclonal antibody being developed by Taizhou Hanzhong Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; and
  • A collaboration in China to evaluate the combination of fruquintinib with genolimzumab (GB226), a PD-1 monoclonal antibody being developed by Genor Biopharma Co. Ltd.

The global market for angiogenesis inhibitors was over US$18 billion in 2017, based on their use in around 30 different tumor settings. Each of the agreements announced today will pursue different initial indications within the field of solid tumors.

“Recent innovations in solid tumor drugs have focused on targeted therapies and immunotherapies which, as monotherapies, have both provided improved patients outcomes,” said Christian Hogg, Chief Executive Officer of Chi-Med. “We believe that the future of oncology treatments increasingly lies in combining therapies, utilizing multiple mechanisms of action (“MOA”) to confront tumors. Our unique next-generation anti-angiogenesis VEGFR inhibitors, with high selectivity and tolerability, make them ideal candidates for such combinations with immunotherapy agents such as PD-1/L1 monoclonal antibodies to prolong and expand the benefits of these therapies to more patients.”

Chi-Med’s proof-of-concept studies have already demonstrated the benefits of combinations with other kinase inhibitors or with chemotherapy.

Surufatinib (HMPL-012 or sulfatinib) is a novel, oral angio-immuno kinase inhibitor that inhibits VEGFR and fibroblast growth factor receptor (FGFR) which both inhibit angiogenesis, and colony stimulating factor-1 receptor (CSF-1R) which regulates tumor-associated macrophages, promoting the body’s immune response against tumor cells. This dual angiogenesis-checkpoint inhibitor’s MOA may be very suitable for combination use with other immunotherapies. Surufatinib, as a monotherapy, is in late-stage clinical trials in China and began proof-of-concept clinical trials in the United States in July 2018.

Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of VEGFR. Its unique kinase selectivity has been shown to reduce off-target toxicity thereby allowing possible use in combination with other agents. It was first approved for colorectal cancer in China in September 2018. It is in several late-stage clinical trials for lung and gastric cancer, including in combination with chemotherapy such as paclitaxel (Taxol®) and other kinase inhibitors such as gefitinib (Iressa®), and is in a Phase I clinical trial in the United States.

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) is an innovative biopharmaceutical company which researches, develops, manufactures and markets pharmaceutical products. Its Innovation Platform, Hutchison MediPharma, has about 400 scientists and staff focusing on discovering, developing and commercializing targeted therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. It has a portfolio of eight cancer drug candidates currently in clinical studies around the world. Chi-Med’s Commercial Platform manufactures, markets, and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products, covering an extensive network of hospitals across China.

Dual-listed on the AIM market of the London Stock Exchange and the Nasdaq Global Select Market, Chi-Med is headquartered in Hong Kong and majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 1). For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the clinical development of surufatinib and fruquintinib including as combination therapy with toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab; plans to initiate clinical studies for surufatinib and fruquintinib including as a combination therapy with toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab; its expectations as to whether such studies would meet their primary or secondary endpoints; and its expectations as to the timing of the enrollment completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of surufatinib and fruquintinib including as a combination therapy with toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval, the potential market of surufatinib and fruquintinib including as a combination therapy with toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab for a targeted indication and the sufficiency of funding. In particular, as certain studies rely on the use of toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab as a combination therapeutic with surufatinib and fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and regulatory approval of toripalimab, sintilimab, HX008 or genolimzumab. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President, Corporate Finance & Development

+852 2121 8200

David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson

+44 7967 566 919 (Mobile)

david.dible@citigatedewerogerson.com

Xuan Yang, Solebury Trout

+1 (415) 971 9412 (Mobile)

xyang@troutgroup.com

Media Enquiries

UK & Europe – Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson

+44 7973 611 888 (Mobile)

anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk

Americas – Brad Miles, Solebury Trout

+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)

bmiles@troutgroup.com

Hong Kong & Asia ex-China – Joseph Chi Lo, Brunswick

+852 9850 5033 (Mobile)

jlo@brunswickgroup.com

Hong Kong & Asia ex-China – Zhou Yi, Brunswick

+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)

yzhou@brunswickgroup.com

Mainland China – Sam Shen, Edelman

+86 1367 179 1029 (Mobile)

sam.shen@edelman.com

Nominated Advisor

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts, Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

+44 (20) 7886 2500