新闻中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
创新平台, 新闻稿, 监管信息公告 | 2020-06-18

和黄医药宣布呋喹替尼获美国FDA授予快速通道资格用于治疗转移性结直肠癌

伦敦:2020年6月18日,星期四:和黄中国医药科技有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“Chi-Med”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM)今天宣布,美国食品药品监督管理局(“FDA”)已授予呋喹替尼快速通道资格,开发用于治疗既往接受过基于氟嘧啶、奥沙利铂和伊立替康的化疗,抗血管内皮生长因子(VEGF)生物制剂治疗,以及抗表皮生长因子受体(EGFR)治疗(若为RAS野生型)的转移性结直肠癌(“mCRC”)患者。

和黄医药正计划在美国、欧洲和日本启动一项呋喹替尼治疗难治型mCRC患者的III期注册研究FRESCO-2(clinicaltrials.gov 注册号:NCT04322539)。FRESCO-2研究预期于2020年年中开始招募患者。美国FDA已确认呋喹替尼的整体临床数据(包括:若取得积极结果的FRESCO-2研究,早前已取得积极结果使总体生存率有所提高并成功推动2018年呋喹替尼在中国获批的III期FRESCO研究,以及其他在mCRC中已完成及正在进行中的其他研究),将可用于支持呋喹替尼用于mCRC患者三线治疗的新药上市申请(“NDA”)。新药上市申请评审期间,将评估相关数据是否足以支持特定适应症。

 

关于快速通道资格

美国FDA快速通道资格旨在加速针对严重疾病的药物开发和审批,以解决未获满足的医疗需求。获得快速通道资格的新药可能是针对特定严重疾病的首个疗法,或与现有疗法相比在临床上具有显着优势。除此之外,这类新药有可能拥有独特的作用机制,或者可令对现有疗法效果不佳或不耐受的患者获益,从而解决未满足的医疗需求。获得快速通道资格的项目可以在药物开发计划上与美国FDA进行更频繁的互动,并获取加速审批、优先审评和滚动审评资格。1

 

结直肠癌在美国

结直肠癌是世界第三大常见癌症,在2018年造成超过88万人死亡。2在美国,结直肠癌是第四大常见癌症,也是第二大癌症死因。3据估计, 2020年美国预计有147,950人确诊结直肠癌,其中53,200人将死于结直肠癌。4

 

关于呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一种高选择性强效口服血管内皮生长因子受体(VEGFR )1、2及3的抑制剂。VEGFR抑制剂在限制肿瘤的血管生成中起到了至关重要的作用。呋喹替尼的独特设计使其激酶选择性更高,以达到更低的脱靶毒性、更高的耐受性及对靶点更稳定的覆盖。迄今,呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好,并且临床前研究中展示出的较低的药物间相互作用的可能性,或使其非常适合与其他癌症疗法联合使用。

和黄医药拥有呋喹替尼在中国以外区域的所有权利,并与礼来公司(“礼来”)在中国范围内合作开发及商业化呋喹替尼。

 

呋喹替尼治疗结直肠癌

呋喹替尼于2018年9月获中国国家药品监督管理局(国家药监局)批准在中国销售,并于2018年11月底由礼来以商品名爱优特®进行商业推广。爱优特®适用于既往接受过氟嘧啶、奥沙利铂和伊立替康治疗的转移性结直肠癌患者,包括既往接受过抗VEGF治疗和/或抗表皮生长因子受体(EGFR)治疗(RAS野生型)的患者。呋喹替尼III期关键性注册研究FRESCO的研究成果已于2018年6月在《美国医学会杂志》(JAMA)上发表(clinicaltrials.gov注册号:NCT02314819)。

2017年12月,和黄医药在美国启动了一项多中心开放标签的Ib期临床试验,旨在评估呋喹替尼在美国晚期实体瘤患者中的安全性、耐受性和药代动力学特性(clinicaltrials.gov 注册号:NCT03251378)。该研究于2019年进入概念验证试验,用于治疗mCRC和转移性乳腺癌患者。2020年2月,和黄医药与美国FDA召开了EOP2(Ⅱ期临床结束)会议,与欧洲药品管理局(EMA)和日本医药品和医疗器械局(PMDA)的监管互动也在进行中。

 

呋喹替尼其他开发计划

中国胃癌研究:2017年10月,和黄医药启动了FRUTIGA研究。FRUTIGA研究是一项随机双盲III期临床试验,旨在评估呋喹替尼联合紫杉醇对比紫杉醇单药化疗治疗二线晚期胃癌或GEJ腺癌的疗效和安全性。研究计划纳入对一线标准化疗无应答的患者。受试者将以1:1的比例随机分组,接受呋喹替尼联合紫杉醇或安慰剂联合紫杉醇治疗,并根据胃癌vs. GEJ腺癌,和体能状态评分等因素进行分层。研究的主要疗效终点为总生存期(OS)。次要疗效终点包括无进展生存期(PFS,依据RECIST 1.1进行评估)、客观缓解率(ORR)、疾病控制率(DCR)、疾病缓解时间和生存质量评分(依据EORTC QLQ-C30,3.0版进行评估)。研究也将探索与呋喹替尼抗肿瘤活性相关的生物标志物。该研究详情可登陆clinicaltrials.gov,检索NCT03223376查看。2020年6月,和黄医药完成了一项预设的中期分析,基于预设标准,独立数据监察委员会(IDMC)建议研究继续进行。

免疫疗法联合用药:和黄医药已订立三项合作协议,以评估呋喹替尼与PD-1单克隆抗体,包括替雷利珠单抗(BGB-A317)、达伯舒®(信迪利单抗,IBI308)和杰诺单抗(GB226,Geptanolimab),联合疗法的安全性、耐受性和疗效。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄中国医药科技有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“Chi-Med”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM)是一家创新型生物医药公司,在过去20年间致力于发现和全球开发治疗癌症和自身免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。目前,和黄医药共有8个抗癌类候选药物正在全球开发中,并在中国本土市场拥有广泛的商业网络。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.chi-med.com

 

 前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括对快速通道资格潜在未来利益,呋喹替尼在美国结直肠癌的临床开发,以及和黄医药对呋喹替尼在其他地区或适应症的临床开发计划的预期。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:入组率、满足研究入选和排除标准的受试者的时间和可用性,临床方案或监管要求变更,非预期不良事件或安全性问题,呋喹替尼(包括作为联合治疗)达到研究的主要或次要终点的疗效,为呋喹替尼提供资金、实施和完成其进一步临床开发和商业化计划的能力,此类事件发生的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于一些研究依赖于与呋喹替尼的联合疗法,因此此类风险和不确定性包括此类联合疗法药物的安全性、疗效、供应和监管批准的假设。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本公告发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会和AIM提交的文件。无论是否出现新信息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含信息的义务。

 

  1. Source: Food and Drug Administration, “Expedited Programs for Serious Conditions – Drugs and Biologics”: https://www.fda.gov/files/drugs/published/Expedited-Programs-for-Serious-Conditions-Drugs-and-Biologics.pdf
  2. The Global Cancer Observatory, colorectal cancer fact sheet.  https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/10_8_9-Colorectum-fact-sheet.pdf
  3. SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Common Cancer Sites. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/common.html
  4. SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer.  https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html

 

联系方式

投资者咨询

李健鸿,资深副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

媒体咨询

美洲
Brad Miles, Solebury Trout +1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
英国及欧洲
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw, FTI Consulting +44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (手机) /
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
Chi-Med@fticonsulting.com
亚洲
卢志伦, 博然思维集团 +852 9850 5033(手机)
jlo@brunswickgroup.com
周怡, 博然思维集团 +852 9783 6894(手机)
yzhou@brunswickgroup.com
中国大陆
张瑞丹, 爱德曼公关公司 +86 139 1694 1712(手机)
fay.zhang@edelman.com

任命保荐人

Freddie Crossley / Atholl Tweedie,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

1 个附件
下载新闻稿 (PDF)

News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 18 Jun 2020

Chi-Med Announces Fruquintinib Granted U.S. FDA Fast Track Designation for Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

London: Thursday, June 18, 2020: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) today announces that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) has granted Fast Track Designation for the development of fruquintinib, for the treatment of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (“mCRC”) who have been previously treated with fluoropyrimidine-, oxaliplatin-, and irinotecan-based chemotherapy, an anti-vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) biological therapy, and, if RAS wild-type, an anti-epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) therapy.

Chi-Med is initiating a Phase III registration study, known as the FRESCO-2 study, in refractory mCRC in the U.S., Europe and Japan (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT04322539).  FRESCO-2 is expected to start enrolling patients in mid-2020.  The U.S. FDA acknowledged that the totality of the fruquintinib clinical data, including the FRESCO-2 study, if positive; the prior positive Phase III FRESCO study demonstrating improvement in overall survival that led to fruquintinib approval for mCRC in China in 2018; and additional completed and ongoing supporting studies in mCRC; could support a New Drug Application (“NDA”) for the treatment of patients with mCRC in the third-line setting.  The adequacy of the data to support a specific indication will be assessed during the review of a New Drug Application.

 

About Fast Track Designation

The FDA Fast Track Designation is one of several approaches utilized by the U.S. FDA to expedite development and review of potential medicines for serious conditions and that fulfill unmet medical needs.  A potential new medicine may fill an unmet medical need by being the first therapy to address a specific serious condition, offer clinically significant advantages over available therapies, act via a different mechanism of action than available therapies, or have a benefit in patients who are unresponsive to or intolerant of available therapies.  Programs that receive Fast Track Designation are entitled to more frequent interactions with the U.S. FDA on drug development plan, as well as eligibility for accelerated approval, priority review, and rolling review.1

 

About Colorectal Cancer (“CRC”) in the U.S.

CRC is the third most common cancer worldwide, causing more than 880,000 deaths in 2018.2  In the U.S., CRC is the fourth most common cause of new cancer cases, but the second leading cause of cancer deaths.3 It is estimated that in 2020, 147,950 people will be diagnosed with CRC and 53,200 people will die from CRC in the U.S.4

 

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor receptor (“VEGFR”) 1/2/3.  VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis.  Fruquintinib was designed to improve kinase selectivity to minimize off-target toxicities, improve tolerability and provide more consistent target coverage.  The generally good tolerability in patients to date, along with fruquintinib’s low potential for drug-drug interaction based on preclinical assessment, suggests that it may also be highly suitable for combinations with other anti-cancer therapies.

Chi-Med retains all rights to fruquintinib outside of China and is partnered with Eli Lilly and Company (“Lilly”) in China.

 

About Fruquintinib in mCRC

Fruquintinib was approved for marketing by the China National Medical Products Administration (“NMPA”) in September 2018 and commercially launched by Lilly in late November 2018 under the brand name Elunate®.  Elunate® is for the treatment of patients with mCRC that have been previously treated with fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan, including those who have previously received anti-VEGF therapy and/or anti-EGFR therapy (RAS wild type).  Results of the FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with mCRC in China, were published in The Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA, in June 2018 (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02314819).

In December 2017, Chi-Med initiated a multi-center, open-label, Phase Ib clinical study to evaluate the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of fruquintinib in U.S. patients with advanced solid tumors (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT03251378).  The study progressed into proof-of-concept trials in 2019, including patients with mCRC and metastatic breast cancer.  In February 2020, an End of Phase II (EOP2) meeting was held with the U.S. FDA, and regulatory interactions with the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and Japanese Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA) are also underway.

 

Other Fruquintinib Development

Gastric Cancer in China: In October 2017, Chi-Med initiated the FRUTIGA study, a randomized, double-blind, Phase III trial evaluating the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel for second-line treatment of advanced gastric or GEJ adenocarcinoma.  The trial is designed to enroll patients who did not respond to first-line standard chemotherapy.  Subjects will receive either fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel or placebo combined with paclitaxel.  Patients will be randomized at a 1:1 ratio and stratified according to factors such as stomach vs. GEJ tumor type and performance status.  The primary efficacy endpoint is overall survival.  Secondary efficacy endpoints include progression-free survival (as defined by RECIST 1.1), objective response rate, disease control rate, duration of response, and quality-of-life score (EORTC QLQ-C30, version 3.0).  Biomarkers related to the antitumor activity of fruquintinib will also be explored.  Additional details about this study can be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT03223376.  In June 2020, Chi-Med completed a planned interim data review.  Based on the preset criteria, the Independent Data Monitoring Committee (IDMC) recommended that the trial continue.

Immunotherapy combinations: Chi-Med has entered into three collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of fruquintinib in combination with programmed death-1 (PD-1) monoclonal antibodies, including with tislelizumab (BGB-A317), Tyvyt® (sintilimab, IBI308) and geptanolimab (GB226, genolimzumab).

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) is an innovative biopharmaceutical company committed, over the past twenty years, to the discovery and global development of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases.  It has a portfolio of eight cancer drug candidates currently in clinical studies around the world and extensive commercial infrastructure in its home market of China. For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the potential future benefits of Fast Track Designation and the anticipated clinical development of fruquintinib in CRC in the United States as well as Chi-Med’s clinical development plans for fruquintinib in other jurisdictions and indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of fruquintinib, including as a combination therapy, to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, its ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for fruquintinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of such combination therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

  1.  Source: Food and Drug Administration, “Expedited Programs for Serious Conditions – Drugs and Biologics”: https://www.fda.gov/files/drugs/published/Expedited-Programs-for-Serious-Conditions-Drugs-and-Biologics.pdf
  2.  The Global Cancer Observatory, colorectal cancer fact sheet.  https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/10_8_9-Colorectum-fact-sheet.pdf
  3.  SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Common Cancer Sites. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/common.html
  4.  SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer.  https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President
+852 2121 8200

Annie Cheng, Vice President
+1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas – Brad Miles, Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com

UK & Europe –Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw, FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) / +44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
Chi-Med@fticonsulting.com

Asia – Joseph Chi Lo, Brunswick
+852 9850 5033 (Mobile)
jlo@brunswickgroup.com

Zhou Yi, Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
yzhou@brunswickgroup.com


Nominated Advisor

Freddy Crossley / Atholl Tweedie, Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500