新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2011-11-04

和黃醫藥啟動表皮生長因子受體(EGFR)抑製劑依吡替尼(Epitinib)Ⅰ期臨床試驗

2011 年11 月4 日:和黃醫藥今日宣布啟動依吡替尼(HMPL-813)Ⅰ期臨床試驗。依吡替尼是和黃醫藥研發項目中第三個進入國內臨床試驗的替代抗腫瘤抗體藥物。依吡替尼是作用於表皮生長因子受體(EGFR)第二代小分子口服抑製劑,可有效到達目標組織以抑制腫瘤的功效。2011 年10 月31 日對第一位臨床試驗者進行了針對治療。

即將開展的Ⅰ期臨床試驗主要評估依吡替尼的安全性和耐受性,克服最大耐受劑量,同時評估其抑制各種腫瘤的初步療效,如依吡替尼在抑制攜帶EGFR 突變基因的非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)轉移至大腦的腫瘤時的療效等。

臨床前研究表明,依吡替尼在原位腦瘤模型上表現出良好的滲透性和腫瘤抑製作用。並且在給予遠距離毒性劑量的藥物後,大腦組織中的藥物濃度可以對準對腦在臨床前研究中依吡替尼也表現出良好的藥代動力學特性和安全性。若該疾病在臨床試驗中得到證實,依吡替尼將是治療原發性腦瘤病患和攜帶EGFR 突變基因的轉移性腦瘤病患的突破性良藥。

 

關於腫瘤的表皮生長因子受體(EGFR)

表皮生長因子受體(EGFR )是細胞表皮生長因子(EGFs )的蛋白受體。激活EGFR 可導致腫瘤細胞增殖,遷移,侵入身體的其他組織..小分子酪氨酸激酶抑製劑如依吡替尼(HMPL- 813)可有效抑制EGFR 以達到治療腫瘤的目的。

第一代小分子EGFR 抑製劑,如吉非替尼(易瑞沙™ )和埃羅替尼(特羅凱™ ),主要用於治療攜帶EGFR 突變基因的非小細胞肺癌。2010 年,特羅凱™ 的全球癌症達到了約13 億美元。非小細胞肺癌病患中約有10 -30%攜帶EGFR 突變基因。除非小細胞肺癌病患外,30%到40%的成膠質細胞瘤患者也攜帶EGFR 突變基因。目前可用的EGFR 抑製劑,由於入腦通透性較差以至於在治療原發性腦癌和癌症腦轉移時效果欠佳。

 

關於肺癌和癌症腦轉移

2008 年全球肺癌患者約超過160 萬例,中國則超過52 萬例。在中國及全球範圍內,癌症已成為發病的最高的癌症之一。

8 -10%的癌症患者中有癌細胞的腦轉移現象發生。在全球範圍內,癌症腦轉移是導致病患死亡的首要原因之一。肺癌,癌症,皮膚和吸入道原發癌均可以導致癌症的腦轉移。其中,原發性肺癌最容易引發癌症腦轉移,據估計,50%的癌症病最終最終都會有腦轉移。研究表明,儘管吉非替尼和埃羅替尼沒有起到多大作用,但是EGFR 抑製劑對於治療癌症腦轉移和良好的療效。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 4 Nov 2011

Hutchison MediPharma Limited initiates Phase I clinical study for its novel EGFR inhibitor Epitinib

London, Friday, 4 November 2011: Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), the drug R&D company majority owned by Chi-Med, today announces the initiation of the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial of Epitinib (HMPL-813).  This is the third oncology compound from the internal discovery programmes of HMP to enter into clinical study in China.  Epitinib is a novel, second generation, orally active small molecule inhibitor targeting the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR), designed for optimal tissue distribution to achieve broader anti-tumour activity.  The first patient was dosed on 31 October 2011.

The primary objectives of the Phase I study of Epitinib are to evaluate its safety and tolerability in patients and to determine its maximum tolerated dose.  The study will also evaluate its preliminary efficacy against various tumours, including tumours carrying activating EGFR mutations that have metastasised to the brain from other cancers such as non-small cell lung cancer.

In preclinical studies, Epitinib demonstrated excellent brain penetration and good efficacy in orthotopic brain tumour models and reached drug concentrations in the brain tissue that are expected to result in robust efficacy when given orally at doses well below toxic levels.  Epitinib was also found to have good pharmacokinetic properties and a favourable safety profile.  If the preclinical findings are confirmed in clinical studies, Epitinib could become a breakthrough therapy for patients with primary brain tumours or tumours metastasised to brain carrying activating EGFR mutations.

 

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Christian Hogg, CEO

Telephone:      +852 2121 8200

 

   

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Anthony Carlisle

David Dible

Telephone:      +44 (0) 20 7638 9571

Mobile:            +44 (0) 7973 611 888

Mobile:            +44 (0) 7967 566 919

   

Lazard & Co., Limited

Paul Gismondi

Nick Fowler

Telephone:      +44 (0) 20 7187 2000

Notes to Editors

About the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) in cancer

The epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) is a protein that is a cell-surface receptor for epidermal growth factors (EGFs).  Activation of EGFR can lead to a series of downstream signalling activities that mediate tumour cell proliferation, migration, invasion, and the suppression of cell death.  Treatment strategies for certain cancers relate to inhibiting EGFRs with small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitors, such as Epitinib (HMPL-813).

First generation small molecule EGFR inhibitors such as gefitinib (Iressa™) and erlotinib (Tarceva™) are used for the treatment of non-small cell lung cancer, particularly in patients with EGFR-related mutations.  Worldwide sales of Tarceva™ alone reached approximately US$1.3 billion in 2010.  EGFR mutations occur in about 10-30% of non-small cell lung cancer patients and are a hallmark for treatment success.  In addition to non-small cell lung cancer, EGFR mutations are also found in 30-40% of glioblastoma patients.  The currently available EGFR inhibitors lack satisfactory clinical efficacy against primary brain tumours or tumours metastasised to the brain from other organs such as the lung, largely attributable to insufficient drug penetration into the brain.

 

About lung cancer and brain metastasis

The estimated incidence of lung cancer worldwide was over 1.6 million in 2008, with over 520,000 cases in China.  Lung cancer is the most common cancer both worldwide and in China.

Brain metastases occur in 8-10% of cancer patients and are a significant cause of cancer-related morbidity and mortality worldwide.  The most common origins of brain metastasis include primary cancers of the lung, breast, skin and the gastrointestinal tract.  Among these, primary tumours of the lung are the most common cause of brain metastasis, as it has been estimated that 50% of patients with lung cancer will ultimately develop brain metastasis.  Studies suggest a potential role for EGFR inhibitors in the treatment of brain metastasis, although gefitinib and erlotinib have thus far demonstrated only modest clinical efficacy.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 200 well-trained employees, its pipeline includes novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is the holding company of a healthcare group based primarily in China and was listed on the Alternative Investment Market of the London Stock Exchange in May 2006.  It is focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health oriented consumer products.

Chi-Med is majority owned by Hutchison Whampoa Limited, an international company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

1 items
a111104