新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2012-02-22

和黃醫藥啟動新型受體(c-Met)抑製劑沃利替尼(Volitinib )Ⅰ期臨床試驗

2012 年2 月22 日:和黃醫藥今日宣佈在澳大利亞啟動沃利替尼(HMPL-504 )I 期臨床試驗。沃利替尼是一種小分子新型靶向治療藥物,是c-Met 受體酪氨酸激酶的高選擇性抑製劑,用於癌症治療。沃利替尼是和黃醫藥研發的眾多腫瘤化合物之一,也是和黃醫藥第一個在澳大利亞開展臨床試驗的抗腫瘤藥物。2011 年12 月21 日,阿斯利康與和黃醫藥簽署了一項合作協議,共同致力於沃利替尼(Volitinib )在全球範圍內的開發、註冊和銷售。

沃利替尼的I 期臨床已經通過澳大利亞Bellberry 人體研究倫理委員會的批准。首先將在Sir Charles Gairdner 醫院(簡稱“ SCGH” )進行,由Michael Millward 教授監督指導,Michael Millward 教授是SCGH 腫瘤內科主任以及西澳大學臨床腫瘤研究教授。此項I 期臨床研究主要評估沃利替尼治療晚期癌症患者的安全性和耐受性,確定其最大耐受劑量,同時評估沃利替尼治療多種腫瘤,包括肺癌和胃癌的初步療效。c-Met 的基因擴增和蛋白表達水平將會在後階段的臨床試驗中作為篩選患者的指標。

Michael Millward 教授表示:“ 沃利替尼是一種高選擇性地抑制c-Met 的口服抗癌藥物。我們非常榮幸其首次人體I 期臨床試驗能夠在澳大利亞開展,同時也非常高興能夠在這個很有潛力的個體化新藥的全球開發中起到關鍵性的作用。

沃利替尼是經過對274 個激酶的篩選而證實的一種高選擇性ATP 競爭性c-Met 抑製劑。沃利替尼的臨床前研究表明在一系列的人體腫瘤異體移植模型中,特別對於c-Met 基因擴增或c-Met 過度表達的情況有腫瘤抑製作用。

 

關於c-Met 信號通道

c-Met (也稱為HGFR )信號通道在哺乳類動物正常生長和發育過程中具有特殊作用。然而已有研究表明,這種通道在不同的癌症中表現異常。沃利替尼是有效的高選擇性c ‑ Met 抑製劑,在一系列臨床前疾病模型中已證明其可有效地抑制腫瘤生長,尤其是對於c ‑ Met 基因擴增或c-Met 蛋白過度表達等c-Met 信號傳導異常的腫瘤具有明顯的抑製作用。這些生物標誌物可能在後期階段臨床試驗中用於篩選有效臨床試驗受試患者。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥是中國領先的創新藥物研發企業,主要研發治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病的創新藥物。和黃醫藥目前擁有約200 位科學家和員工,其在研新型口服藥物在北美、歐洲、澳大利亞和大中華區均有臨床試驗。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 22 Feb 2012

Hutchison MediPharma Limited initiates Phase I clinical study of its novel c-Met inhibitor Volitinib

London: Wednesday, 22 February 2012: Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), an R&D company majority owned by Chi-Med, today announces the initiation of the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial of Volitinib (HMPL-504) in Australia.  Volitinib is a novel targeted therapy and a highly selective inhibitor of the c-Met receptor tyrosine kinase for the treatment of cancer.  This is one of several oncology compounds discovered and developed by HMP and the first oncology compound from HMP to enter into clinical study in Australia.  On 21 December 2011, AstraZeneca PLC and HMP announced they had entered into a global licensing, co-development and commercialisation agreement for Volitinib.

The Phase I study of Volitinib has been approved by the Bellberry Human Research Ethics Committee in Australia.  It is being conducted initially at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital (SCGH) under the direction and supervision of Dr. Michael Millward, Winthrop Professor of Clinical Cancer Research and Head of Medical Oncology Department at SCGH and University of Western Australia.  The primary objectives of the Phase I study of Volitinib are to evaluate its safety and tolerability in patients with advanced cancer and to determine its maximum tolerated dose.  The study will also evaluate Volitinib’s preliminary efficacy against various tumours, including lung cancer and gastric cancer.  The c-Met gene amplification status and protein expression level will be used subsequently to direct patient selection.

Professor Michael Millward said: “Volitinib is a novel oral anti-cancer therapy that selectively targets the c-Met signalling pathway.  We are excited to conduct this first-in-human Phase I study in Australia and to play an important role in the global efforts of developing this potential personalised new medicine.”

Volitinib is a potent ATP-competitive c-Met inhibitor with high selectivity over a 274 kinase panel.  Pre-clinical studies of Volitinib have demonstrated tumour growth inhibitory activity in a series of human tumour xenografts, especially for those tumours with c-Met gene amplification or c-Met over-expression.

 

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Christian Hogg, CEO

Telephone:      +852 2121 8200

 

   

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Anthony Carlisle

David Dible

Telephone:      +44 20 7638 9571

Mobile:            +44 7973 611 888

Mobile:            +44 7967 566 919

   

Lazard & Co., Limited

Paul Gismondi

Nick Fowler

Telephone:      +44 20 7187 2000

Notes to Editors

About the c-Met Signal pathway

The c-Met (also known as HGFR) signalling pathway has specific roles particularly in normal mammalian growth and development.  However, this pathway has been shown to function abnormally in a range of different cancers.  Volitinib is a potent and highly selective c-Met inhibitor, which has been demonstrated to inhibit the growth of tumours in a series of pre-clinical disease models, especially for those tumours with aberrant c-Met signalling such as gene amplification or c-Met over-expression.  In addition these biomarkers provide the potential to explore patient selection strategies in later stage clinical trials.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 200 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is the holding company of a healthcare group based primarily in China and was listed on the Alternative Investment Market of the London Stock Exchange in May 2006.  It is focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health oriented consumer products.

Chi-Med is majority owned by Hutchison Whampoa Limited, an international company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.