新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2012-11-01

和黃醫藥啟動表皮生長因子受體(EGFR)抑製劑西利替尼(Theliatinib )I期臨床試驗

2012 年11 月1 日,星期四:和黃醫藥今日宣布啟動西利替尼(HMPL-309 )I 期臨床試驗。西利替尼是和黃醫藥研發項目中第四個進入國內臨床試驗的靶向抗腫瘤藥物。西利替尼是表皮生長因子受體(EGFR )口服小分子抑製劑,作用於表達野生型EGFR 的腫瘤或由於使用第一代EGFR 治療藥物而產生耐藥的腫瘤。2012 年10 月30 日第一位患者接受了該藥的臨床I 期試驗治療。

I 期臨床試驗主要評估西利替尼在晚期實體瘤病人上的安全性和耐受性,以確定最大耐受劑量,同時評估其抑制非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC )的初步療效,確定西利替尼單次給藥和多次給藥下的藥物代謝情況,研究西利替尼的抗腫瘤活性與生物標記物之間的關係。

臨床前研究表明,西利替尼的各個耐受劑量在野生型EGFR 動物模型上表現出良好的抗腫瘤活性,同時西利替尼具有良好的藥代動力學特性以及安全性,組織分佈情況良好。與第一代EGFR 抑製劑相比,西利替尼對野生型EGFR 和EGFR 耐藥腫瘤有更好的抗腫瘤療效。和黃醫藥總裁賀雋先生說,“ 如果臨床研究也顯示出這些特性,我們就完全有理由相信西利替尼可以成為這一領域中重要的治療藥物。”

 

關於表皮生長因子受體(EGFR )和非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC )

EGFR 在與表皮生長因子(EGF) 結合後,激活一系列下游信號活動,包括調解腫瘤細胞增殖,抑制細胞死亡等。EGFR 抑製劑可阻斷這些信號通路,從而抑制腫瘤細胞生長和存活。

2008 年全球肺癌患者約超過160 萬例,中國則超過52 萬例。在中國及全球範圍內,肺癌已成為發病最高的癌症之一。

第一代小分子EGFR 抑製劑,如吉非替尼(易瑞沙™ )和埃羅替尼(特羅凱™ ),主要用於治療攜帶EGFR 敏感突變基因的非小細胞肺癌。2011 年,特羅凱™ 的全球銷售額達到了約14 億美元。但是非小細胞肺癌病患中僅有10-30 %(根據地域區別數據有所差異)可能攜帶EGFR 敏感突變基因。而大部分患者均為攜帶野生型EGFR ,目前可用的EGFR 抑製劑對這些病患均無明顯的治療效果。臨床前研究表明,西利替尼對於治療野生型EGFR 的非小細胞肺癌病患和對吉非替尼和埃羅替尼有抗藥性的病患有具有很好的治療潛力。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥是中國領先的創新藥物研發企業,主要研發治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病的創新藥物。和黃醫藥目前擁有約200 名科學家和員工,其在研的針對癌症和炎症的新型口服藥物在北美、歐洲、澳大利亞和大中華區均有臨床試驗。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 1 Nov 2012

Hutchison MediPharma Limited initiates Phase I clinical study with its novel EGFR inhibitor Theliatinib

London: Wednesday, 31 October 2012: Chi-Med announced that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), its majority owned R&D company, initiated the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial of Theliatinib (HMPL-309).  This is the fourth oncology compound from the internal discovery programmes of HMP to enter into clinical development in China.  Theliatinib is a novel, orally active small molecule inhibitor targeting the wild type epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”) or resistant EGFR tumours.  The first patient was dosed on 30 October 2012.

The primary objectives of the Phase I study are to evaluate its safety and tolerability in patients with advanced solid tumours and to determine its maximum tolerated dose.  This study will also evaluate its preliminary efficacy against non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”), determine the pharmacokinetics of Theliatinib under single dose and repeat doses and explore the relationship between the Theliatinib’s activity and certain biomarkers.

In pre-clinical studies, Theliatinib demonstrated strong anti-tumour activity against EGFR wild type tumours at doses that are expected to be well tolerated. Theliatinib was also found to have good pharmacokinetic properties and a favourable safety profile.  These studies also exhibited good tissue distribution and stronger anti-tumour activity in EGFR wild type and EGFR resistant tumours, compared with first generation small molecule EGFR inhibitors.  “If these attributes are also demonstrated in clinical studies, we believe that Theliatinib could become an important therapy in this area,” said Christian Hogg, Chief Executive Officer of Chi-Med.

 

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Christian Hogg, CEO

Telephone:      +852 2121 8200

 

   

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Anthony Carlisle

David Dible

Telephone:      +44 20 7638 9571

Mobile:            +44 7973 611 888

Mobile:            +44 7967 566 919

   

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Richard Gray

Andrew Potts

Grishma Patel

Telephone:      +44 20 7614 8383

Notes to Editors

About epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”) and non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”)

EGFR is a protein that is a cell-surface receptor for epidermal growth factors.  Activation of EGFR can lead to a series of downstream signalling activities that mediate tumour cell proliferation and the suppression of cell death.  Small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitors of EGFR block these signals, limiting tumour cell growth and survival.

The estimated incidence of lung cancer worldwide was over 1.6 million in 2008, with over 520,000 cases in China.  Lung cancer is the most common cancer both worldwide and in China.

Gefitinib (Iressa™) and erlotinib (Tarceva™), first generation small molecule EGFR inhibitors, are used to treat NSCLC, particularly in patients with EGFR sensitive mutations.  Worldwide sales of Tarceva™ alone reached approximately US$1.4 billion in 2011.  However, EGFR mutations generally occur in 10-30% of NSCLC patients, with the range differing slightly by region.  Currently available EGFR inhibitors have been shown to be less effective in treating patients carrying the wild type EGFR compared to treating patients harbouring EGFR activating mutations.  Pre-clinical studies suggest that Theliatinib has potential in the treatment of NSCLC patients with wild type EGFR or resistance to gefitinib or erlotinib.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 200 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is the holding company of a healthcare group based primarily in China and was listed on the Alternative Investment Market of the London Stock Exchange in May 2006.  It is focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health oriented consumer products.

Chi-Med is majority owned by Hutchison Whampoa Limited, an international company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.