新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2010-04-30

和黃醫藥抗癌新藥索凡替尼獲得國家藥監局新藥臨床試驗批文

— 公司啟動索凡替尼一期臨床試驗

和黃醫藥宣布啟動其治療癌症的全新候選藥物索凡替尼的I 期臨床研究,第一例受試者於近日開始用藥。索凡替尼的新藥臨床試驗申請通過國家藥品食品監督管理局綠色通道受理並獲得臨床試驗批文。

索凡替尼(HMPL-012) 是由和黃醫藥自主研發的具有全球專利的新型化學小分子化合物。索凡替尼是以血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR) 和成纖維細胞生長因子受體(FGFR) 為靶點的選擇性酪氨酸激酶抑製劑,臨床前實驗表明它能有效地抑制腫瘤血管生成。目前抑制腫瘤血管生成是治療癌症的重要手段之一。索凡替尼的臨床前實驗結果不僅表明索凡替尼能高效抑制血管生成,而且其動物耐受性良好,具有很好的治療安全窗。

索凡替尼的I 期臨床試驗是開放的、劑量遞增的臨床研究。其主要研究目的是確定索凡替尼的最大耐受劑量(MTD) 並評價其在惡性實體腫瘤患者中的安全性和耐受性。次要研究目的包括考察索凡替尼單次給藥和多次給藥的藥代動力學特點及評價其抗腫瘤的活性。

和黃醫藥總裁杜瑩博士說:“ 索凡替尼一期臨床試驗的啟動是和黃醫藥抗癌藥物研發團隊又一個重要里程碑。索凡替尼是一種高效的、具有良好選擇性的VEGFR /FGFR 抑製劑,我們非常高興能將該候選藥物推進臨床階段。目前癌症患者急切地需要一種更有效,更安全的抗血管生成藥物來治療癌症。目前中國市場上還沒有自主研發的小分子靶向癌症藥物,索凡替尼的成功開發將會填補這一空白。”

 

關於血管內皮生長因子(VEGF) 傳導通路在腫瘤中的作用

新生血管生成在腫瘤細胞的生長、生存、侵襲和轉移中起著重要作用。隨著腫瘤的生長,腫瘤組織可產生血管內皮生長因子(VEGF) ,後者與血管內皮細胞上的相應受體(VEGFR) 相結合,從而刺激新生血管生成,以提供腫瘤生長所需的營養成分。因而,通過阻斷VEGF/VEGFR 的路徑,造成新生血管生成抑制已成為抗腫瘤治療藥物開發的重要策略之一。若干抗VEGFR 藥物已在臨床上對多種腫瘤類型的顯現出很好的療效。

索凡替尼是一種強效、選擇性、小分子VEGFR/FGFR 的酪氨酸激酶抑製劑。索凡替尼在小鼠異種移植模型上對數種人體腫瘤表現出良好的抗癌活性。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥是國內領先的生物技術公司,擁有員工200 餘名。公司主要研究和開發植物藥、半合成天然藥物和單一合成化學實體藥物。和黃醫藥在治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病領域擁有豐富的全新小分子化學藥物。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 30 Apr 2010

Hutchison MediPharma Limited Receives SFDA IND Approval and Begins Phase I Clinical Trial of Sulfatinib for the Treatment of Cancer

London: Friday, 30 April 2010: Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“Hutchison MediPharma”), the wholly-owned drug R&D subsidiary of Chi-Med, today announces that it has initiated the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial of its anti-cancer drug candidate, Sulfatinib, after it received approval from the State Food and Drug Administration (“SFDA”) in China.  The investigational new drug application (“IND”) was reviewed through SFDA’s Green Channel expedited application process.  The first patients were dosed on 28 April 2010.

Sulfatinib (HMPL-012) is a novel small molecule that selectively inhibits the tyrosine kinase activity associated with vascular endothelial growth factors (VEGFs) and fibroblast growth factor (FGF) receptors.  Pre-clinical data shows that this compound is a potent suppressor of angiogenesis, an established approach in anti-cancer treatment.  It also indicated that it is generally well tolerated in animals.  Sulfatinib was discovered and developed internally by Hutchison MediPharma.

The Phase I clinical study is being conducted in China.  The trial is an open-label, dose-escalation study.  The primary objective of the trial is to estimate the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and assess the safety and tolerability in patients with advanced solid tumours.  The secondary objectives include the assessment of single and multiple dose pharmacokinetics and the evaluation of Sulfatinib’s antitumor activity.

Dr. Samantha Du, Chief Scientific Officer of Chi-Med and Chief Executive Officer of Hutchison MediPharma, said: “This clinical trial approval and its initiation mark a major achievement for the oncology R&D organisation at Hutchison MediPharma.  Sulfatinib is a highly potent and selective VEGF signalling inhibitor, and we are very pleased that we have advanced this anti-cancer agent into clinical development.  There is a clear medical need for more effective and safe anti-angiogenic treatments for cancer.”

 

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Christian Hogg, CEO

Telephone:      +852 2121 8200

 

   

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Anthony Carlisle

David Dible

Telephone:      +44 (0) 20 7638 9571

Mobile:            +44 (0) 7973 611 888

Mobile:            +44 (0) 7967 566 919

   

Lazard & Co., Limited

Paul Gismondi

Nick Fowler

Telephone:      +44 (0) 20 7187 2000

 

Notes to Editors

About the Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor in Cancer Tumours

Angiogenesis, the process of developing new blood vessels, is critical for tumour cell growth, survival, invasion and metastasis.  The vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) and VEGF receptors (VEGFRs) play a pivotal role in tumour-related angiogenesis, and the VEGF/VEGFR pathway is an important target for anti-angiogenic drug development and tumour therapy.  Inhibition of VEGF signalling in tumour vasculature therefore represents an exciting therapeutic strategy, with the potential to arrest the development of new blood vessels essential for tumour growth and metastasis.  Several anti-VEGF agents have shown efficacy in a range of tumour types.

Sulfatinib is a potent, selective, small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitor of VEGFs.  In vivo, Sulfatinib inhibited the growth of multiple human tumours xenografts in mice.

 

About Hutchison MediPharma

Hutchison MediPharma is Chi-Med’s wholly-owned drug R&D subsidiary and has a team of well over 200 scientists and staff focusing on discovery and development of botanical drugs, semi-synthetic natural product drugs, and synthetic single chemical entity drugs.  Hutchison MediPharma has a pipeline of single new chemical entity projects in both the auto-immune/inflammatory disease and oncology therapeutic areas.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is the holding company of a pharmaceutical and healthcare group based primarily in China and was admitted to trading on the Alternative Investment Market of the London Stock Exchange in May 2006.  It is focused on researching, developing, manufacturing, and selling pharmaceuticals and health oriented consumer products.

Chi-Med is majority owned by Hutchison Whampoa Limited, an international company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

1 Item
a100430