新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2014-05-23

AZD6094治療乳頭狀腎細胞癌的全球II期臨床試驗啟動

2014年5月23日: 和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱“ 和黃醫藥”)今日宣布與阿斯利康聯合啟動AZD6094 (HMPL-504/沃利替尼) (“AZD6094” )以乳頭狀腎細胞癌為適應症的全球II期臨床試驗,評估其藥效及安全性。AZD6094是和黃醫藥研發的一種強效且高選擇性的c-Met激酶抑製劑。根據2011年雙方簽訂的合作協議,阿斯利康將向和黃醫藥支付一筆里程碑付款,並將負責該藥在中國地區以外的開發。

乳頭狀腎細胞癌約佔新發腎癌病例的10-15%,而目前尚無藥物被批准用於治療此類癌症的晚期患者。C-Met信號通路異常激活在乳頭狀腎細胞癌變中的作用已被廣泛證實,因此對c-Met通路的有效抑制有潛力成為此類癌症的一種嶄新的治療方式。

AZD6094在一系列臨床前疾病模型中被證實能夠有效抑制腫瘤增長,尤其是c-Met通路異常的腫瘤。I期劑量遞增臨床研究於2012年和2013年分別在澳大利亞和中國啟動。AZD6094在晚期癌症患者中顯示出良好的安全性,耐受性及藥代動力學特性,並在多種腫瘤類型中顯示出良好的抗腫瘤活性,尤其是轉移性乳頭狀腎細胞癌。AZD6094的I期臨床試驗的結果將在2014年5月30日至6月3日美國芝加哥舉行的美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)年會上公佈。

此次試驗是開放的單臂多中心臨床II期研究,以評估AZD6094 對局部晚期或轉移性乳頭狀腎細胞癌患者的藥效和安全性。來自美國、加拿大和歐洲的約20個研究中心將參與此次研究。試驗的主要研究目的是評估AZD6094在乳頭狀腎細胞癌患者中以總緩解率來衡量的抗腫瘤活性。次研究目的則包括:評估乳頭狀腎細胞癌患者的無惡化生存期和緩解持續時間;評估AZD6094在患者治療中的安全性及藥物耐受性;評估AZD6094的藥效/ 藥代動力學特性以及多次口服給藥後患者穩定狀態下的藥物代謝情況;以及通過c-Met磷酸化等生物標誌物的改變來初步評估AZD6094在血液和腫瘤中的活性。此次試驗的探索性研究目的是在接受AZD6094治療的患者血液和腫瘤中探究早期診斷標誌物以及觀察可能發生的抗藥性。

哈佛大學醫學院附屬丹娜法伯癌症研究院醫學博士、AZD6094全球II期臨床試驗指導委員會負責人Toni Choueiri 表示:“看到在這種罕見的腫瘤中開展臨床研究,著實令人感到振奮。乳頭狀腎細胞癌是腎癌中尚待解決的一個難題,靶向MET治療是一種非常可取的治療策略。”

和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司的首席執行官賀雋表示:“我們對於AZD6094在乳頭狀腎細胞癌中開展II期臨床研究感到很振奮。這對藥物本身以及和黃醫藥來說都是一個重要的里程碑。決定在乳頭狀腎細胞癌中開展研究,一期臨床數據起到了很關鍵的推動作用,這同時也證明了藥物本身以及和黃醫藥和阿斯利康的聯合開發團隊的優秀素質。AZD6094在其他腫瘤類型中也有很大的潛力,同時,我們也非常期待AZD6094與其他藥物聯合開發的可能性。”

阿斯利康副總裁、腫瘤創新藥物負責人Susan Galbraith表示:“通過這次強強聯手的合作,我們加深了對癌症中基因變異的認識。通過研發新藥來解決並克服癌症給人類健康帶來的困擾,這是我們公司為癌症患者提供個性化保健策略的核心部分。”

 

關於腎細胞癌

腎細胞癌佔成人惡性腫瘤約3%。在美國,每年有65,000個新發病例被診斷為腎細胞癌,每年死亡病例為13,500例。全球範圍內,每年診斷出270,000個新發病例,死亡病例達到116,000例。男性患腎細胞癌的機率比女性更高,高發年齡為50-70 歲。

腎細胞癌是由多種具有不同基因和生化特點的腫瘤亞型組成的一種異質性疾病。在腎細胞癌的腫瘤變異型中,透明細胞性腎癌是最常見的,占到腎臟惡性腫瘤的75-90% 。而乳頭狀腎細胞癌是非透明細胞性腎癌中最常見的種類,佔其總數的10-15% 。

 

關於c-Met通道

C-Met(也稱為HGFR)信號通路在哺乳類動物正常生長和發育過程中具有特定作用。研究表明,c-Met通路在多種癌症中表現異常,而異常的通路激活可導致癌細胞的無序生長,遷移及存活的失常。c-Met通路的激活有四種表現形式:c-Met基因擴增,HGF/c-Met 過度表達,突變,以及與其他受體的相互作用。c-Met基因擴增在胃癌,頭頸癌及腸癌中較為普遍;而c-Met的過度表達常見於許多實體腫瘤類型中,如肺癌,胃癌,頭頸癌,腸癌及食道癌。此外,這其中的許多癌症,例如肺癌,胃癌及食道癌(伴有EGFR基因突變)都與亞洲人口關係更為密切。

C-Met酪氨酸激酶結構域的突變已經在遺傳性的乳頭狀腎細胞癌患者中得到明確驗證,直接表明c-MET參與到人體腫瘤生成。

 

關於AZD6094 (HMPL-504/沃利替尼)

AZD6094是高選擇性的c-Met激酶抑製劑,在一系列臨床前腫瘤動物模型中已證明其可有效地抑制腫瘤生長,尤其是對攜帶c-Met基因擴增或c-Met蛋白過度表達等異常的腫瘤具有顯著的抑製作用。這些生物標誌物將有可以在後期階段的臨床試驗中用於篩選臨床試驗受試者。2011年12月,和黃醫藥與阿斯利康簽署了共同致力於AZD6094在全球範圍內的開發、註冊和銷售的合作協議,並於2012年2月在澳大利亞啟動了I期臨床研究。2013年6月,和黃醫藥在中國啟動了I期臨床研究。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 23 May 2014

Initiation of AZD6094 (HMPL-504/volitinib) Global Phase II Study in Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma

London: Friday, 23 May 2014: Chi-Med today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), Chi- Med’s majority owned R&D company, and AstraZeneca AB (publ) (“AstraZeneca”) have initiated a global Phase II study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of AZD6094 (HMPL-504/volitinib) (“AZD6094”), HMP’s potent and highly selective c-Met inhibitor, in patients with papillary renal cell carcinoma (“PRCC”). Under the terms of the global licence granted to AstraZeneca by HMP in 2011, AstraZeneca will now make a milestone payment to HMP, and will lead and fund this development outside of China.

PRCC represents about 10 to 15% of all new cases of kidney cancer and advanced disease has no approved therapy today. Molecular alterations leading to aberrant activation of the c-Met signalling pathway have been well documented in PRCC and effective inhibition of c-Met has been considered a potential treatment pathway for PRCC.

AZD6094 has been demonstrated to inhibit the growth of tumours in a series of preclinical disease models, selectively for those tumours with aberrant c-Met signalling. Phase I dose escalation studies were initiated in Australia and China in 2012 and 2013 respectively. AZD6094 has demonstrated good safety and tolerability and favourable pharmacokinetic properties in late stage cancer patients, and has shown encouraging anti-tumour activity in several tumour-types, in particular for metastatic PRCC. The results from the Phase I studies are planned to be released at the 50th annual meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology which will be held from 30 May to 3 June 2014 in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

This trial is an open-label, single-arm, multicentre, Phase II, study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of AZD6094 in patients with locally advanced or metastatic PRCC. Approximately 20 centres in the United States, Canada, and Europe will participate in the study. The primary objective of this study is to assess the anti-tumour activity of AZD6094 in patients with PRCC as measured by overall response rate according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (“RECIST”) (version 1.1). The secondary objectives for this study are to: assess the progression free survival and duration of response in patients with PRCC according to RECIST (version 1.1); assess the safety and tolerability of AZD6094 in the treatment of patients with PRCC; characterise the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of AZD6094 and metabolites following administration to steady state after multiple dosing when given orally; and obtain a preliminary assessment of AZD6094 activity in blood and tumour by evaluation of biomarker changes which may include, but not limited to, phosphorylated c -Met. Exploratory objectives include an investigation of predictive markers and acquired resistance to AZD6094 that may be observed in blood and tumour from patients treated with AZD6094.

“It is pretty exciting to see trials being developed in this rare histology. PRCC is an unmet medical need in the field of kidney cancer and targeting MET is a very reasonable strategy,” said Toni Choueiri, MD, of the Dana- Farber Cancer Institute and Head of the Steering Committee of the Phase II trial.

Christian Hogg, Chief Executive Officer of Chi-Med said, “We are delighted to see the initiation of this Phase II trial for AZD6094 in PRCC as this represents a major milestone for both the compound and for HMP. The data which has driven this decision to invest in a PRCC study is compelling and shows the quality of both the compound itself and the joint development team which has been built between HMP and AstraZeneca. There are enormous opportunities for AZD6094 in other cancer types and we are particularly excited by the potential to combine with other compounds.”

“Through this great collaboration we are able to increase our understanding of the genetic changes which drive different cancers to grow and to develop medicines designed to address and overcome those genetic drivers. This is a core part of our oncology strategy to deliver personalised healthcare to patients,” said Susan Galbraith, Vice President, Head of Oncology Innovative Medicines, AstraZeneca.

 

Ends

 

Enquiries

Chi-Med
Christian Hogg, CEO
Telephone: +852 2121 8200

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
Richard Gray
Andrew Potts
Telephone: +44 20 7886 2500

Citigate Dewe Rogerson
Telephone: +44 20 7638 9571
Anthony Carlisle
Mobile: +44 7973 611 888
David Dible
Mobile: +44 7967 566 919

 

Notes to Editors

 

About renal cell carcinoma (kidney cancer)

Renal cell carcinoma (“RCC”) accounts for approximately 3% of all adult malignancies. In the United States, there are more than 65,000 new cases of RCC diagnosed each year and 13,500 RCC deaths annually. Worldwide, 270,000 new patients are diagnosed each year and up to 116,000 deaths occur due to RCC. RCC is more common in men than in women and it usually occurs between 50-70 years of age.

RCC is a heterogeneous disease made up of several histological subtypes with different genetic and biochemical characteristics. Among the histologic variants of RCC, clear cell RCC is the most common, accounting for 75-90% of all renal malignancies. Papillary RCC is the most common of the non-clear cell renal carcinomas (10-15%).

 

About the c-Met signal pathway

The c-Met (also known as HGFR) signalling pathway has specific roles particularly in normal mammalian growth and development. However, this key pathway has been shown to function abnormally in a range of different cancers. Aberrant pathway activation can lead to uncontrolled tumour cell growth, invasion and survival. There are four different mechanisms of c-Met pathway activation: c-Met gene amplification, HGF/c-Met over-expression, mutation, and cross talk with other receptors.

c-Met gene amplification is more prevalent in stomach, head & neck and colon cancers; whereas c-Met over- expression is found in many solid tumours, including lung, stomach, head & neck, colon, and oesophageal cancers. Moreover, many of these tumours are of relevance to the Asian population, such as lung, stomach, and oesophageal cancers (with EGFR mutations). Mutations in the tyrosine kinase domain of c-Met have been positively identified in patients with a hereditary form of PRCC, directly implicating c-MET in human tumourigenesis.

 

About AZD6094 (HMPL-504/volitinib)

AZD6094 is a potent and highly selective small molecule inhibitor of the c-Met receptor with opportunities in lung, gastric, renal and other cancers. It has been demonstrated to inhibit the growth of tumours in a series of preclinical disease models, especially for those tumours with aberrant c-Met signalling such as gene amplification or c-Met over-expression. In addition, these biomarkers provide the potential to explore patient selection strategies in later stage clinical trials. In December 2011, HMP signed a global licensing deal with AstraZeneca on AZD6094 and then followed up with the start of Phase I study in Australia in February 2012. In June 2013 HMP initiated a Phase I study in Asian patients in China.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. With a team of around 200 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med. For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based healthcare group focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products. Its China Healthcare Division manufactures, markets and distributes prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals in China. Its Drug R&D Division focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. Its emerging Consumer Products Division focuses on organic and natural consumer products in Asia.

Chi-Med (LSE:HCM) is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate Hutchison Whampoa Limited (SEHK:13). For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.