新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2014-06-05

呋喹替尼治療非小細胞肺癌的II期臨床試驗啟動

2014 年6 月5 日: 和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱“ 和黃醫藥”)今日宣布啟動呋喹替尼(HMPL-013)以非小細胞肺癌為適應症的中國II 期臨床試驗。呋喹替尼是一種新型高選擇性抑制血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)的小分子化合物。和黃醫藥於2014 年初開始II 期臨床試驗的準備工作和受試者篩選,6 月3 日首位患者接受給藥治療。

呋喹替尼的中國II期臨床試驗為隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心驗證性臨床試驗,試驗的受試者為二線化療失敗的非鱗狀非小細胞肺癌患者。受試者將接受呋喹替尼加最佳支持治療(BSC)和安慰劑加最佳支持治療,以評估呋喹替尼的藥效和安全性。其主要試驗終點為無進展生存期,次試驗終點包括疾病控制率,總緩解率,總存活率和安全性。預計約90位患者將參與呋喹替尼的II期臨床試驗,2015年有望公佈試驗結果。

呋喹替尼是一種新型高選擇性抑制血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR1,2及3)的小分子化合物。在臨床I期試驗中有40名患者接受了呋喹替尼的給藥治療。和黃醫藥在2013年4月舉行的美國癌症研究協會(AACR)年會上公佈了I期臨床試驗的詳細結果,詳情請見:http://chi-med.com/eng /irinfo/presentations.htm。基於I期的臨床數據,首次驗證性II期臨床試驗於2014年4月2日啟動,該試驗是針對局部晚期或轉移性結直腸癌患者的隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心II期臨床試驗。

2013年10月,和黃醫藥與美國禮來就呋喹替尼在中國的開發、審批和銷售正式簽署了協議。

 

關於血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGF)和中國的非小細胞肺癌現狀

癌症進入到晚期,腫瘤會分泌大量的蛋白配體血管細胞內皮生長因子(VEGF),以促進腫瘤組織周圍過度的脈管系統的生成(血管生成),為腫瘤細胞的生長提供更多的血流,氧氣和營養。VEGF和其受體VEGFR在腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,因此,對VEGF/VEGFR相關通路的抑製成為了阻斷新生血管發展,防止腫瘤增長和侵入的一種新的治療策略。目前,數種抗VEGF/VEGFR 藥物對包括結直腸癌,肝癌,乳腺癌和胃癌在內的多種實體腫瘤類型顯示出臨床療效。

肺癌是全球最常見的惡性腫瘤。根據美國癌症協會估計,每年美國有22萬新發病例被診斷為肺癌。肺癌也是中國第一大癌症,2012年患病人數逾715,000例,佔癌症患者總人數的18.7%。肺癌也是死亡率最高的惡性腫瘤。肺癌主要分為兩大類型:小細胞肺癌和非小細胞肺癌。非小細胞肺癌還可以根據腫瘤細胞類型進一步分為鱗癌、腺癌、大細胞癌等常見類型。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥是中國領先的創新藥物研發企業,主要研發治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病的創新藥物。和黃醫藥目前擁有約200位科學家和員工,其在研新型口服藥物在北美、歐洲、澳大利亞和大中華區均有臨床試驗。更多資訊,請登錄: www.chi-med.com

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 5 Jun 2014

Initiation of fruquintinib Phase II study in non-small cell lung cancer

London: Thursday, 5 June 2014: Chi-Med today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), its majority owned R&D company, has initiated a Phase II clinical trial in non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) patients in China for fruquintinib (HMPL-013), its investigational small molecule agent that is designed to selectively inhibit vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (“VEGFR”).  Preparations and patient screening began earlier this year, with the first patient dosed on 4 June 2014.

This randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-centre, proof-of-concept (“POC”) Phase II study is targeted at treating non-squamous NSCLC patients who have failed second-line standard chemotherapy.  This trial is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib versus placebo in NSCLC patients.  All patients will receive best supportive care.  The primary endpoint is progression free survival, with secondary endpoints including disease control rate, overall response rate, overall survival and safety.  Approximately 90 patients will be enrolled, with top-line results expected in 2015.

Fruquintinib is designed to selectively inhibit VEGF receptors, including VEGFR1, 2, and 3.  In the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial, 40 late-stage cancer patients were treated with fruquintinib.  Detailed results of the Phase I clinical trial were presented at the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research in April 2013, and are available at http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm.  Based on the Phase I data, the first POC Phase II study was initiated on 2 April 2014, which was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-centre Phase II clinical trial targeted at treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic colorectal cancer.

In October 2013, HMP entered into a licensing, co-development and commercialisation agreement in China with Eli Lilly and Company for fruquintinib.

 

Ends

 

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Christian Hogg, CEO

 

Telephone:           +852 2121 8200

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Richard Gray

Andrew Potts

Telephone:           +44 20 7886 2500

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Anthony Carlisle

David Dible

Telephone:           +44 20 7638 9571

Mobile:                   +44 7973 611 888

Mobile:                   +44 7967 566 919

 

Notes to Editors

About vascular endothelial growth factor (“VEGF”) and non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) in China

At an advanced stage, tumours secrete large amounts of VEGF, a protein ligand, to stimulate formation of excessive vasculature (angiogenesis) around the tumour in order to provide greater blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the tumour.  VEGF and VEGF receptors (“VEGFRs”) play a pivotal role in tumour-related angiogenesis, and thus inhibition of the VEGF/VEGFR pathway represents an exciting therapeutic strategy in blocking the development of new blood vessels essential for tumour to grow and invade.  To date, several anti-VEGF/VEGFR agents have shown clinical efficacy against a number of tumour types including colorectal, liver, breast and gastric cancer, amongst others.

Lung cancer is the most common cancer both worldwide and in China.  The American Cancer Society estimated that about 220,000 new cases of lung cancer were diagnosed in the United States each year.  In China, lung cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer, with over 715,000 cases in 2012, accounting for 18.7% incidence among all cancer patients.  It is also the most common cause of cancer death.  There are two major types of lung cancer: small cell lung cancer and NSCLC.  NSCLC is a disease in which malignant cancer cells form in the tissues of the lung, and can be further classified based on cancer cell types with the most common ones including squamous cell carcinoma, large cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 200 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.  For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based healthcare group focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products.  Its China Healthcare Division manufactures, markets and distributes prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals in China.  Its Drug R&D Division focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  Its emerging Consumer Products Division focuses on organic and natural consumer products in Asia.

Chi-Med (LSE:HCM) is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate Hutchison Whampoa Limited (SEHK:13).  For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.