新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2014-12-15

呋喹替尼治療結直腸癌的III期臨床試驗(FRESCO)啟動

2014年12月15日: 和黃醫藥今日宣布呋喹替尼(HMPL-013)以結直腸癌為適應症的中國III期臨床試驗(FRESCO)正式啟動。呋喹替尼是一種新型高選擇性抑制血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)的小分子化合物。此次研究的準備工作及試驗基地遴選於今年年中啟動,12月12日首位受試者接受給藥治療。

呋喹替尼以結直腸癌為適應症的III期臨床試驗被命名為FRESCO,為隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心臨床試驗.目標受試者為局部晚期或轉移性結直腸癌患者,這些受試者至少經過2 輪抗腫瘤治療的失敗,曾用藥物包括奧沙利鉑和氟尿嘧啶類藥物及伊立替康。受試者以2:1的比例隨機接受每天口服一次5毫克的呋喹替尼(服藥三週/停藥一周為一周期)加最佳支持治療(BSC)和安慰劑加最佳支持治療。其主要試驗終點為總生存期,次試驗終點包括無進展生存期,客觀緩解率,疾病控制率和緩解持續時間。此次臨床研究中,約25家研究中心將入組超過400名受試者,研究結果預計將於2016年公佈。

呋喹替尼是一種新型高選擇性抑制血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR1,2及3)的小分子化合物。在臨床I期試驗中有40名患者接受了呋喹替尼的給藥治療。和黃醫藥在2013年4月舉行的美國癌症研究協會(AACR)年會上公佈了I期臨床試驗的詳細結果,詳情請見:http://chi-med.com/eng /irinfo/presentations.htm。基於結直腸癌I期的臨床數據,Ib 期總計有62位結直腸癌患者參與了臨床試驗,其詳細結果發表於2014年5月舉行的美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)年會,詳情請見:http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm。呋喹替尼單藥或聯合化療治療各類實體瘤(包括結直腸癌,非小細胞肺癌和胃癌)的臨床試驗目前已在中國全面展開。

2013年10月,和黃醫藥與美國禮來就呋喹替尼在中國的開發、審批和銷售正式簽署了協議。

 

關於血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGF)和中國的結直腸癌現狀

癌症進入到晚期,腫瘤會分泌大量的蛋白配體血管細胞內皮生長因子(VEGF),以促進腫瘤組織周圍過度的脈管系統的生成(血管生成),為腫瘤細胞的生長提供更多的血流,氧氣和營養。VEGF和其受體VEGFR在腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,因此,對VEGF/VEGFR相關通路的抑製成為了阻斷新生血管發展,防止腫瘤增長和侵入的一種新的治療策略。

結直腸癌是中國第三大最常見的惡性腫瘤,2012年發病率佔癌症患者的10.2%。中國的結直腸癌患者人數預計達到了39萬例,成為了繼肺癌,肝癌,胃癌和食道癌之後的第五大癌症致死原因。

截至目前,數種抗VEGF/VEGFR製劑對多種腫瘤類型顯示出臨床療效。縱觀中國癌症市場的規模和增長情況,未來幾年中國的VEGF/VEGFR抑製劑市場將飛速發展。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

Initiation of fruquintinib Phase III registration study in colorectal cancer // Chi-Med
News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 15 Dec 2014

Initiation of fruquintinib Phase III registration study in colorectal cancer

London: Monday, 15 December 2014: Chi-Med today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), its majority owned R&D company, has initiated FRESCO, a Phase III registration study in colorectal cancer (“CRC”) patients in China, for fruquintinib (HMPL-013), its investigational small molecule which selectively inhibits vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (“VEGFR”).  Preparations and site selection began in the middle of this year, with the first patient dosed on 12 December 2014.

This randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicentre, Phase III registration study is targeted at treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic CRC, who have failed at least two prior systemic antineoplastic therapies, including fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan.  Patients will be randomised at a 2:1 ratio to receive either: 5 milligrams of fruquintinib orally once per day, on a three-weeks-on / one-week-off cycle, plus best supportive care (“BSC”); or placebo plus BSC.  The primary endpoint is overall survival, with secondary endpoints including progression free survival, objective response rate, disease control rate and duration of response.  More than 400 patients will be enrolled in about 25 centres, with top-line results expected in 2016.

Fruquintinib is designed to selectively inhibit VEGF receptors, namely VEGFR1, VEGFR2, and VEGFR3.  In the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial 40 patients were treated with fruquintinib. Detailed results of the Phase I clinical trial are available at http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm, and were presented at the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research in April 2013.  Based on the Phase I data in CRC, a Phase Ib study was initiated which treated a further 62 CRC patients.  Detailed results of the Phase Ib clinical trial were presented at the annual meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in May 2014, and also can be found at http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm.  Clinical trials for solid tumours including CRC, non-small cell lung cancer and gastric cancer are ongoing at various stages in China as either single-agent therapy or combined with chemotherapy.

In October 2013, HMP entered into a licensing, co-development and commercialisation agreement in China with Eli Lilly and Company for fruquintinib.

 

Ends

 

Enquiries

Chi-Med
Christian Hogg, CEO
Telephone:        +852 2121 8200
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
Richard Gray
Andrew Potts
Telephone:        +44 20 7886 2500
Citigate Dewe Rogerson
Anthony Carlisle
David Dible
Telephone:        +44 20 7638 9571
Mobile:             +44 7973 611 888
Mobile:             +44 7967 566 919

 

Notes to Editors

About vascular endothelial growth factor (“VEGF”) and colorectal cancer in China

At an advanced stage, tumours secrete large amounts of VEGF, a protein ligand, to stimulate formation of excessive vasculature (angiogenesis) around the tumour in order to provide greater blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the tumour. VEGF and VEGF receptors (“VEGFRs”) play a pivotal role in tumour -related angiogenesis, and inhibition of the VEGF/VEGFR pathway. This represents an exciting therapeutic strategy in blocking the development of new blood vessels essential for tumours to grow and invade.

In 2012, there were an estimated 390,000 cases of colorectal cancer diagnosed in China, 10.2% of the total China cancer incidence, making colorectal cancer the third most commonly diagnosed cancer in China.  It was the fifth most common cause of cancer death in China after lung, liver, stomach and oesophagus cancer.

To date, several anti-VEGF/VEGFR agents have shown clinical efficacy against a number of tumour types. Given the scale and growth in the China oncology market, the market for VEGF/VEGFR inhibitors in China is expected to develop quickly in the next few years.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 250 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.  For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based healthcare group focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products.  Its China Healthcare Division manufactures, markets and distributes prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals in China.  Its Drug R&D Division focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  Its emerging Consumer Products Division focuses on organic and natural consumer products in Asia.

 

Chi-Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate Hutchison Whampoa Limited (SEHK:13).  For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.