新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 新聞稿, 監管信息公告 | 2016-01-15

和黃醫藥在澳洲啟動HMPL-523以血液腫瘤為適應症的I期臨床試驗

2016 年1 月15 日:和黃醫藥今日宣佈在澳洲啟動HMPL-523 以惡性血液腫瘤為適應症的I 期臨床試驗。HMPL-523 是針對B 細胞受體信號通路中的酪氨酸激酶Syk 的新型高選擇性小分子抑製劑。此次研究的準備工作及試驗基地遴選於2015 年末啟動,2016 年1 月13 日首位受試者接受給藥治療。2015 年10 月,HMPL-523 在健康志願受試者中進行的I 期臨床試驗獲得了成功,為本次試驗的啟動奠定了基礎。

此次新啟動的HMPL-523以惡性血液腫瘤為適應症的I期臨床試驗是一項開放標籤的劑量遞增研究,口服HMPL-523作為單一療法,目標受試者為病情惡化或者復發的惡性血液腫瘤患者,他們已無法耐受標準療法或缺乏有效的療法。該研究計劃將分為兩個階段:劑量遞增和劑量擴張階段。研究的主要目的為評估HMPL-523的安全性及耐受性,進一步確定該藥在此類患者群體中的最大耐受劑量以及II期臨床試驗的推薦劑量。其他評估指標包括HMPL-523的藥代動力學及藥物代謝特性,以及在劑量擴張階段初步評估該藥在某種亞型患者群體中的抗腫瘤活性。

2015年在健康志願受試者中成功完成的臨床研究已初步確立了HMPL-523的安全特性。和黃醫藥希望此次以惡性血液腫瘤為適應症的I期臨床研究能夠為“通過抑制Syk 實現調控B 細胞信號通路從而為患者帶來臨床療效” 這一概念提供臨床驗證。

 

B 細胞信號通路

B 細胞是免疫系統的重要組成部分,在多種免疫系統疾病中起到至關重要的作用,如類風濕性關節炎、系統性紅斑狼瘡及過敏等自身免疫疾病,也包括淋巴瘤和白血病在內的血液腫瘤(即B 細胞惡性腫瘤)。B 細胞受體信號通路的靶向療法,包括單克隆抗體類及小分子藥物,在治療類風濕關節炎和B 細胞惡性腫瘤中顯現出了良好的臨床療效,為科研和市場的成功奠定了基礎。

酪氨酸激酶Syk ,是介導B 細胞信號通路的重要蛋白質分子。

 

血液腫瘤

血液腫瘤可分為血癌(影響血液及骨髓),淋巴瘤(影響淋巴系統)及骨髓瘤(影響骨髓)。根據諮詢公司Frost & Sullivan分析顯示,2014年全球新增血液腫瘤病例約為954,000例,預計到2020年這一數字將增至110萬。血液腫瘤治療的全球市場預計將從2014年的192 億美元增長至2020年的257 億美元。血液腫瘤的療法根據不同的病例情況採用不同的方法,但主要有化療,放射,靶向療法和/或乾細胞移植以及最近的免疫療法和基因療法。

 

關於血液腫瘤方面的小分子B 細胞信號通路抑製劑

各大製藥公司因小分子B 細胞受體信號療法的優勢而爭相進行研發,並在包括淋巴瘤和白血病在內的B 細胞惡性腫瘤方面已有成功的案例,如作用於B 細胞信號通路中Syk 的下游激酶靶點BTK及PI3Kδ的小分子抑製劑。2013 年及2014年,,Ibrutinib (BTK/艾伯維)和idelalisib (PI3Kδ/吉利德)雙雙獲得了美國食品藥品監督管理局在血液腫瘤方面突破性療法的認定並獲得加速審批。

在血液腫瘤的早期臨床研究中,藥物脫靶毒性限制更少,數種小分子Syk 抑製劑表現出發展潛力。Fostamatinib , entospletinib (吉利德)以及TAK-659 (武田)以單藥或聯合用藥方式,都對非霍奇金淋巴瘤的多種亞型顯現出療效,表明Syk 是此類疾病的相關靶點。

 

關於HMPL-523 在健康志願受試者中的I 期臨床試驗

HMPL-523是一種靶向酪氨酸激酶Syk 的小分子口服抑製劑。和黃醫藥在澳洲完成了HMPL-523的I期臨床試驗,該研究採用劑量遞增來評估該藥在健康志願受試者中的安全性,耐受性和藥代動力學特性。HMPL-523 總共完成了14 組劑量隊列研究,單劑劑量遞增至單劑800mg,多次劑量遞增到多劑400mg。HMPL-523在該試驗中顯現出良好的耐受性,並未出現實質性的脫靶效應。且HMPL-523在研究中呈現出了線性的藥代動力學特性及對B 細胞活性顯示出劑量依賴式的抑製作用。

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

Initiation of HMPL-523 Phase I clinical trial in haematological cancer in Australia // Chi-Med
News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 15 Jan 2016

Initiation of HMPL-523 Phase I clinical trial in haematological cancer in Australia

London: Friday, 15 January 2016: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (AIM: HCM) today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), its drug R&D subsidiary, has initiated a Phase I trial in Australia in patients with haematological malignancies.  HMPL 523 is a novel, highly selective and potent small molecule oral inhibitor targeting spleen tyrosine kinase, also known as Syk, a key component in B-cell receptor signalling.  Preparations and site selection began in late 2015 and the first patient was dosed on 13 January 2016.  This trial follows the successful completion of a first-in-human Phase I clinical trial in healthy volunteers in October 2015.

The new study is a Phase I, open-label, dose escalation study of HMPL 523 as monotherapy administered orally to patients with relapsed or refractory haematological malignancies who are unable to tolerate standard therapy or for whom there is no effective therapy.  Two stages for this study are planned: a dose escalation stage and a dose-expansion stage.  The primary objectives of the study are to evaluate safety and tolerability, and to determine the maximum tolerated dose and/or recommended Phase II dose of HMPL 523 in this patient population.  Other objectives include the evaluation and characterisation of the pharmacokinetics of HMPL 523 and its metabolites, and to make preliminary assessments of the anti-tumour activity of HMPL 523 in certain sub-populations in the dose expansion phase of the trial.

The successful completion of the first-in-human study in healthy volunteers in 2015 has established the safety profile of HMPL 523.  HMP now hopes that this Phase I study in haematological malignancies could provide clinical proof-of-concept that modulation of the B-cell signalling pathway through inhibition of Syk will provide patients with a clinical benefit.

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med

Telephone: +852 2121 8200

Christian Hogg, CEO

 

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

Telephone: +44 20 7886 2500

Richard Gray
Andrew Potts

 

Citigate Dewe Rogerson

Telephone: +44 20 7638 9571

Anthony Carlisle

Mobile: +44 7973 611 888

David Dible

Mobile: +44 7967 566 919

 

Notes to Editors

About B-cell signalling

As one of the major cellular components of the immune system, B-cells play pivotal roles in several immune system related diseases, such as autoimmune diseases including rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus and allergy, as well as haematological cancers (i.e. B-cell malignancies) including lymphoma and leukaemia.  Targeted B-cell receptor signalling therapies, including monoclonal antibodies and small molecules, have been proven to be clinically effective for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis as well as B-cell malignancies, leading to scientific and commercial success.

Syk is a key protein involved in the B-cell signalling pathway.

 

About haematological cancers

Haematological cancers are classified as leukaemia (affecting blood and bone marrow), lymphoma (affecting the lymphatic system) and myeloma (affecting bone marrow).  According to Frost & Sullivan, there were approximately 954,000 new cases of haematological cancers worldwide in 2014, which is expected to increase to approximately 1.1 million new cases annually by 2020.  The global market for haematological cancer treatments is projected to grow from approximately $19.2 billion in 2014 to $25.7 billion by 2020.  Treatment of haematological cancers is determined on a case-by-case basis and primarily involves chemotherapy, radiation, targeted therapy and/or stem cell transplantation and, more recently, immunotherapy and gene therapy.

 

About small molecule B-cell signalling pathway inhibitors in haematological cancer

The advantages of small molecule B-cell receptor signalling therapy has driven research and development by major pharmaceutical companies.  Notable success has been achieved in B-cell malignancies in oncology, such as lymphoma and leukaemia, where small molecule inhibitors are now being used to target kinases down-stream from Syk in the B-cell signalling pathway, namely Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (“BTK”) and PI3Kδ.  In 2013 and 2014, ibrutinib (BTK/AbbVie) and idelalisib (PI3Kδ/Gilead) respectively both received Breakthrough Therapy designation and accelerated approval from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in haematological cancer indications.

In early clinical studies in haematological cancer, where off-target toxicities are less limiting, several small molecule Syk inhibitors have begun to show promise.  Fostamatinib, entospletinib (Gilead) and TAK-659 (Takeda) have all exhibited efficacy against various sub-types of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, in either a single agent or combination setting, thereby indicating that Syk is a relevant target for these diseases.

 

About the HMPL 523 Phase I study in healthy volunteers

HMPL 523 is an oral small molecule therapy targeting Syk.  A first-in-human, dose-escalating, Phase I study to assess safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of HMPL-523 was completed in healthy volunteers in Australia.  HMPL 523 was administered up to 800mg as a single dose and up to 400mg multiple dose in 14 cohorts.  The treatment was generally well tolerated without material off-target toxicities.  HMPL 523 exhibited a linear pharmacokinetic profile and a dose dependent suppression of B-cell activation.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of over 280 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.  HMP is a subsidiary of Chi-Med.  For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based, globally-focused healthcare group which researches, develops, manufactures and sells pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products.  Its Innovation Platform focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases for the global market.  Its Commercial Platform manufactures, markets and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products in China.

Chi-Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 0001).  For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements that reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its plans to initiate clinical studies for its drug candidates in the targeted indications, its expectations as to whether such studies would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies.  Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties.  Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding enrolment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of a drug candidate to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, the ability of a drug candidate to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, the ability of a drug candidate to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval and the sufficiency of funding.  Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.  Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

1 Item
View PDF