新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2014-06-18

和黃醫藥啟動新型Syk抑制劑HMPL-523治療免疫疾病的I期臨床試驗

2014年6月18日:和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱 “和黃醫藥” )今日宣佈在澳洲啟動HMPL-523的I期臨床試驗。 HMPL-523是針對B細胞受體信號通路中的酪氨酸激酶Syk的新型高選擇性小分子抑制劑。HMPL-523是和黃醫藥的在研產品中第二個進入到臨床研究階段的免疫類藥物。6月17日首位受試者接受給藥治療。

B細胞是免疫系統的重要組成部分,在自身免疫疾病中起到至關重要的作用。B細胞受體信號通路的靶向療法在治療類風濕關節炎和B細胞惡性腫瘤中顯現出了良好的臨床療效,為科研和市場的成功奠定了基礎。而Syk是參與到B細胞受體信號通路傳導中關鍵的激酶,也是免疫和腫瘤領域探索性療法的一種全新的靶點。

HMPL-523是一種用於治療類風濕關節炎和紅斑狼瘡等自身免疫疾病的口服製劑。在臨床前研究中,HMPL-523顯現出良好的藥效和激酶選擇性,在關節炎動物模型上,它能有效逆轉關節炎症及骨侵蝕,減少多種促炎性細胞因數的生成,並在動物的毒理學研究中顯示出良好的安全性。

HMPL-523的I期臨床試驗採用隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的劑量遞增研究來評估該藥在健康志願受試者中單次用藥和多次用藥後顯現出的安全性,耐受性和藥代動力學特性。初步結果有望於今年底公佈。

和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司的首席執行官賀雋表示:“自身免疫疾病患者現有的治療方法有限或在安全劑量範圍內用藥後療效甚微,他們因此而飽受病痛折磨。針對這些慢性炎症性疾病,瞭解HMPL-523在臨床前研究中所顯現出來的高度的Syk選擇性和良好的藥代動力學特性最後能否在人體臨床試驗中得到證實,這是非常重要的。如果這些特質能在I期臨床試驗中得到驗證,HMPL-523將有可能成為一種有效的口服治療用藥,為炎症性疾病患者帶來福音。”

 

關於類風濕關節炎

類風濕關節炎是一種自身免疫疾病,會對人體的多種組織和器官造成影響,尤其是關節。類風濕關節炎的治療用藥包括鎮痛劑及抗炎藥,比如類固醇,但是類固醇只能緩解症狀,並不能阻止或減緩疾病進展。 目前市場上的抗風濕藥物(DMARD),包括抗TNF生物製劑,能夠減緩或阻止疾病進展。根據英國市場研究公司Visiongain的預測,2017年類風濕關節炎藥物市場將達到385億美元。

 

關於紅斑狼瘡

紅斑狼瘡,或稱系統性紅斑狼瘡,是一種系統性的自身免疫疾病,可累及身體的多系統多器官,尤其是心臟,關節,皮膚,肺,血管,肝,腎和神經系統。紅斑狼瘡可致命,目前尚無特效療法。輕度紅斑狼瘡患者經常配以非甾體抗炎藥(NSAIDs)服用,而程度嚴重者則需用糖皮質激素或免疫抑制劑。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 18 Jun 2014

Initiation of Phase I clinical trial of novel Syk Inhibitor HMPL – 523 for autoimmune diseases

London: Wednesday, 18 June 2014: Chi-Med today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), the majority owned R&D company of Chi-Med, has initiated the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial of HMPL-523 in Australia.  HMPL-523 is a novel, highly selective and potent small molecule inhibitor targeting spleen tyrosine kinase, also known as Syk, a key component in B-cell receptor signalling.  HMPL-523 is HMP’s second active immunology programme in clinical development.  The first drug dose was administered on 17 June 2014.

As one of the major cellular components of the immune system, B-cells play pivotal roles in autoimmune diseases.  Targeted B-cell receptor signalling therapy has been proven to be clinically effective for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (“RA”) and B-cell malignancies, leading to scientific and commercial success.  Syk is an essential enzyme involved in B-cell receptor signalling pathway and a novel target for investigational therapies in immunology and oncology.

HMPL-523 is being developed as an oral formulation for the treatment of autoimmune diseases such as RA and lupus.  In preclinical studies, HMPL-523 demonstrated superior potency and kinase selectivity, a reversal of the progression of joint inflammation and bone erosion along with a reduced production of multiple pro-inflammatory cytokines, as well as a favourable safety margin in both rodent and non-rodent toxicology studies.

The first-in-human trial aims to establish the safety profile of HMPL-523.  This randomised, double blind, placebo-controlled, dose-escalating study of the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of single and repeat doses of HMPL-523 will be conducted in healthy volunteers.  Initial results are expected around the end of this year.

“For these chronic inflammatory conditions, it is critically important to understand if the high Syk selectivity and very good pharmacokinetic properties of HMPL-523 in preclinical studies bear out into a good human safety profile,” said Christian Hogg, CEO of Chi-Med.  “Should this be proven in this Phase I trial, this drug candidate will have potential as an effective oral treatment for patients with debilitating autoimmune diseases, for whom many existing treatments are limited or only modestly efficacious at safe doses,” he added.

 

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med
Christian Hogg, CEO
Telephone:           +852 2121 8200
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
Richard Gray
Andrew Potts
Telephone:           +44 20 7886 2500
Citigate Dewe Rogerson
Anthony Carlisle
David Dible
Telephone:           +44 20 7638 9571
Mobile:                   +44 7973 611 888
Mobile:                   +44 7967 566 919

 

Notes to Editors

About rheumatoid arthritis

Rheumatoid arthritis (“RA”) is an autoimmune disease that affects many tissues and organs, but principally attacks flexible joints.  Treatment of RA includes both painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs, such as steroids, which relieve the symptoms but do not stop or slow down the disease progression.  Disease-modifying anti-rheumatic drugs (DMARDs), including TNF-blocking biologics, are able to slow or halt the disease progression.  The market for RA drugs is predicted to reach US$38.5 billion in 2017, according to Visiongain.

 

About lupus

Lupus, or systemic lupus erythematous, is a systemic autoimmune disease that can affect any part of the body, particularly the heart, joints, skin, lungs, blood vessels, liver, kidney, and nervous system.  Lupus can be fatal, and there is currently no cure for lupus.  Patients with mild lupus are often prescribed with non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (“NSAIDs”) while patients with more severe lupus may require corticosteroids or immunosuppressants.

 

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  With a team of around 200 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med.  For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

 

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based healthcare group focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products.  Its China Healthcare Division manufactures, markets and distributes prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals in China.  Its Drug R&D Division focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases.  Its emerging Consumer Products Division focuses on organic and natural consumer products in Asia.

Chi-Med (LSE:HCM) is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate Hutchison Whampoa Limited (SEHK:13).  For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.