新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2018-11-16

和黃醫藥公佈呋喹替尼在中國以三線晚期非小細胞肺癌為適應症的 III期臨床試驗FALUCA研究結果

– 研究沒有達到總生存期的主要終點,但呋喹替尼組患者無進展生存期得到延長

 

2018年11月16日,週五:和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「Chi-Med」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)今日公佈呋喹替尼中國III期臨床研究FALUCA的主要研究結果,該研究以二線系統化療失敗的晚期非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)為適應症,研究的主要終點為總生存期(OS)。研究結果顯示呋喹替尼對比安慰劑沒有顯著延長患者的OS。

在FALUCA研究中,對比安慰劑組患者,呋喹替尼組患者的全部次要終點指標均得到顯著改善,包括無進展生存期(PFS)、客觀緩解率(ORR),疾病控制率(DCR)和緩解持續時間(DoR)。呋喹替尼的安全性與既往臨床研究保持一致。完整詳細的研究結果待分析完成後將公佈於近期的科學會議上。

“這項研究的結果顯示呋喹替尼能夠顯著地控制患者的疾病進展。對於這種獲益沒有能夠轉化為患者總生存期的延長,我們感到非常的遺憾。” Chi-Med董事長杜志強先生表示,“我們仍然堅信呋喹替尼的高選擇性和較低的脫靶毒性是其區別於其他同類藥物的主要特點。呋喹替尼單藥已獲批治療結直腸癌,在中國的上市指日可待,我們也在中國和美國開展了多項呋喹替尼與免疫療法相聯合的合作,這些積極的情況使得我們對於呋喹替尼依舊充滿信心。”

呋喹替尼於2018年9月首次獲得國家藥品監督管理局(NMPA)批准用於治療轉移性結直腸癌(CRC)。呋喹替尼也是抗腫瘤治療主流領域首個從發現、研發到無附加條件獲批均在中國完成的藥物。和黃醫藥已經在中國蘇州建立了生產基地,用於呋喹替尼的生產。和黃醫藥將與美國禮來公司共同推動呋喹替尼即將到來的上市,為中國結直腸癌患者帶來獲益。

包括探索呋喹替尼聯合免疫檢查點抑製劑、化療或其他靶向療法的臨床研究在內,呋喹替尼目前仍有多項臨床研究在美國和中國開展。

 

 

其他呋喹替尼相關研發項目

全球開發情況

呋喹替尼單藥美國I期臨床試驗:和黃醫藥於2017年12月在美國啟動了一項多中心開放標籤的I期臨床試驗,旨在評估呋喹替尼在美國晚期實體瘤患者中的安全性、耐受性和藥代動力學特性(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT03251378)。該研究已接近完成,下一階段概念驗證(POC)試驗預計將於2019年啟動。

 

中國開發情況

呋喹替尼中國結直腸癌適應症:2018年9月NMPA批准了呋喹替尼以晚期CRC為適應症的首個NDA申請。該項NDA申請主要基於FRESCO研究的成功結果。 FRESCO研究是一項關鍵註冊性III期臨床試驗,共計納入416名中國CRC患者。該研究的主要研究結果已於2017年6月5日在美國臨床腫瘤學會年會上以口頭報告的形式公佈(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02314819)。

中國胃癌研究:2017年10月,和黃醫藥啟動了呋喹替尼聯合泰素®(紫杉醇)治療一線標準化療失敗的晚期胃癌或胃食管結合部(GEJ)腺癌患者的關鍵性III期臨床研究,這項研究被命名為FRUTIGA ,計劃納入約500名患者(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT03223376)。FRUTIGA研究的概念驗證性中期分析預計將於2019年上半年開展,若中期分析數據良好,和黃醫藥將獲得來自禮來的POC里程碑付款。 FRUTIGA是在一項入組了34名胃癌患者的I/II期臨床試驗的基礎上開展的,該試驗表明呋喹替尼聯合泰素®在這類患者中具有良好的耐受性和令人鼓舞的腫瘤緩解率(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02415023)。

中國肺癌研究:和FALUCA同時進行的還有另外一項II期臨床試驗。該試驗旨在評估呋喹替尼聯合易瑞沙®(吉非替尼)治療初治晚期或轉移性NSCLC的療效和安全性(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02976116)。該試驗的初步結果已於2017年10月16日舉辦的第18屆世界肺癌大會上以口頭報告的形式公佈。

呋喹替尼聯合PD-1檢查點抑製劑:積極探索公司研發管線上的候選藥物與其他抗癌療法潛在的協同作用是和黃醫藥的重要戰略之一。 2018年10月,和黃醫藥與嘉和生物醫藥有限公司達成了一項在中國的合作以評估呋喹替尼與PD-1抑製劑杰諾單抗(GB226)的聯合療法。

 

 

關於FALUCA

FALUCA是一項隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心III期註冊性臨床研究,旨在評估呋喹替尼治療二線系統化療失敗的晚期非鱗NSCLC患者的療效和安全性。入組的527名患者按照2:1的比例隨機接受每天口服一次5毫克的呋喹替尼(服藥三週/停藥一周為一周期)聯合最佳支持治療(BSC)或安慰劑聯合BSC。該研究的主要研究終點為OS,次要研究終點包括無進展生存期PFS、客觀緩解率(ORR)、疾病控制率(DCR)和緩解持續時間(DoR)。 FALUCA研究詳情可登陸clinicaltrials.gov,檢索NCT02691299查看。

 

 

關於呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼(商品名:愛優特®)是一種小分子藥物,能夠高選擇性地強效抑制VEGFR 1,2,及3。 VEGFR抑製劑在限制腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,能夠限制腫瘤快速生長所需的血液供應。據估計,2017年全球抗血管生成藥物市場超過180億美金,包括被批准用於治療約30種腫瘤類型的各種單克隆抗體和小分子藥物。和黃醫藥於2007年開始研發VEGFR抑製劑。在早期發現過程中,為了使呋喹替尼脫靶毒性更低、耐受性提高並對靶點具有更穩定的覆蓋,和黃醫藥對呋喹替尼的結構進行了成功的設計,使其激酶選擇性比其他已經獲批的小分子酪氨酸激酶抑製劑(TKIs)更高,並因此具有更優的臨床療效。呋喹替尼良好的耐受性以及其在臨床前研究中展示出的較低的藥物間相互作用的可能性,為其未來與其他癌症療法進行創新聯合奠定了成功的基礎。

2013年10月,和黃醫藥與禮來達成了一項對呋喹替尼在中國范圍內進行授權、共同開發和商業化的協議。按照協議約定,和黃醫藥負責呋喹替尼的開發,由此產生的費用由雙方共同承擔;和黃醫藥已獲得首付款項、後續開發以及獲批的里程碑付款;呋喹替尼在中國上市銷售後,和黃醫藥也將獲得銷售提成。和黃醫藥與禮來協議在三種實體瘤中對呋喹替尼進行開發,包括CRC、NSCLC和胃癌。

呋喹替尼常見不良反應包括高血壓、手足皮膚反應和蛋白尿。臨床上對這些常見不良反應進行有效地管理是可行的。更多呋喹替尼相關安全性信息,請訪問www.chi-med.com查看。

 

 

關於Chi-Med及 和記黃埔醫藥

和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司(Chi-Med(簡稱“和黃醫藥”或“Chi-Med”)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)是一家創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於藥品的研究、開發、生產和銷售。和記黃埔醫藥是Chi-Med的創新藥研發平台,現有一支約400人的研發團隊,專注於研發和商業開發治療癌症和自身免疫性疾病的靶向創新藥物,目前共有8個抗癌類候選藥物進入臨床階段,正在全球開展臨床研究。Chi-Med的商業平台負責處方藥和健康類消費品在中國的生產和營銷,銷售網絡覆蓋中國廣大地區的醫院。

Chi-Med總部位於中國香港,在倫敦證券交易所(AIM)和美國納斯達克全球精選市場均已上市,由長江和記實業有限公司(SEHK:1)持有多數股權。了解更多詳情請訪問:www.chi-med.com

1 個附件
下載通告 (PDF)

Chi-Med Announces Phase III FALUCA Trial Results for Fruquintinib in Third-Line, Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer in China // Chi-Med
News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 16 Nov 2018

Chi-Med Announces Phase III FALUCA Trial Results for Fruquintinib in Third-Line, Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer in China

– Trial did not meet the primary endpoint of overall survival despite improvement in progression-free survival –

London: Friday, November 16, 2018: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“Chi-Med”) (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) today announces the outcome of FALUCA, its Phase III trial of fruquintinib in advanced non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) patients in China who have failed two lines of systemic chemotherapy. The trial did not meet the primary endpoint to demonstrate a statistically significant increase in overall survival (“OS”) compared to placebo.

Fruquintinib demonstrated, in FALUCA, a statistically significant improvement in all secondary endpoints including progression-free survival (“PFS”), objective response rate (“ORR”), disease control rate (“DCR”) and duration of response (“DoR”) as compared to the placebo. The safety profile of the trial was in line with that observed in prior clinical studies. Full detailed results are expected to be disclosed at an upcoming scientific meeting.

“While the study demonstrates a significant reduction in disease progression in this challenging lung cancer patient population, we are disappointed that this benefit did not translate into an increase in overall survival,” commented Simon To, Chairman of Chi-Med. He added, “We remain confident that the high selectivity and lower off-target toxicities of fruquintinib are major points of differentiation. The recent first approval of fruquintinib monotherapy for advanced colorectal cancer, the imminent launch in China, and the commencement of several combination collaborations with immunotherapies both in China and in the U.S., reinforces our belief in fruquintinib.”

Fruquintinib was first approved by the National Medical Products Administration of China (NMPA) in September 2018, for the treatment of advanced colorectal cancer, becoming the first China-discovered and developed pharmaceutical for a mainstream oncology indication to be unconditionally approved in China. Chi-Med has established a manufacturing facility in Suzhou, China, to produce fruquintinib. The market launch of fruquintinib in CRC in China, in collaboration with Eli Lilly and Company (“Lilly”), is now imminent.

Fruquintinib is also in multiple ongoing clinical trials in the U.S. and China, including in combination with checkpoint inhibitors, chemotherapy, and other targeted therapy agents.

About Other Fruquintinib Development Programs

Global Development

Phase I monotherapy in the U.S.: In December 2017, Chi-Med initiated a multi-center, open-label, Phase I clinical study to evaluate the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of fruquintinib in U.S. patients with advanced solid tumors (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT03251378). This study is almost complete, and proof-of-concept (“POC”) studies are expected to begin in 2019.

China Development

Colorectal cancer in China: The NMPA approved the first NDA for fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with advanced colorectal cancer in September 2018. The NDA is supported by data from the successful FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with advanced colorectal cancer in China, which was highlighted in an oral presentation at the American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting held on June 5, 2017 (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02314819).

Gastric cancer in China: In October 2017, Chi-Med initiated a pivotal Phase III clinical trial of fruquintinib in combination with Taxol® (paclitaxel), known as the FRUTIGA study, in approximately 500 patients with advanced gastric or gastroesophageal junction (GEJ) adenocarcinoma who have progressed after first-line standard chemotherapy (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT03223376). An interim analysis on FRUTIGA, to establish POC, is anticipated during the first half of 2019 and if successful could trigger a POC milestone from Lilly. The FRUTIGA study followed a Phase I/II clinical trial in 34 patients with gastric cancer that demonstrated that combination therapy of fruquintinib and Taxol® was generally well-tolerated with promising tumor response (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02415023).

Lung cancer in China: Fruquintinib is being studied in a Phase II study in combination with Iressa® (gefitinib) in patients with untreated advanced or metastatic NSCLC (clinicaltrials.gov identifier NCT02976116). Preliminary results were highlighted in an oral presentation at the 18th World Conference on Lung Cancer on October 16, 2017.

Programmed cell death protein-1 (“PD-1”) checkpoint inhibitor combination: It is an important part of Chi-Med’s strategy to explore the potential synergies of its drug candidates in combination with other anti-cancer treatments in several solid tumor settings. In October 2018, Chi-Med entered into a further collaboration in China to evaluate the combination of fruquintinib with genolimzumab (GB226), a PD-1 inhibitor being developed by Genor Biopharma Company Limited.

About FALUCA

The FALUCA trial is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-center, Phase III registration study targeted at treating patients with advanced non-squamous NSCLC, who have failed two lines of systemic chemotherapy. 527 patients were randomized at a 2:1 ratio to receive either: 5mg of fruquintinib orally once per day, on a three-weeks-on / one-week-off cycle, plus best supportive care (“BSC”); or placebo plus BSC. The primary endpoint is OS, with secondary endpoints including PFS, ORR, DCR and DoR. Additional details about this study can be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT02691299.

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib (brand name: Elunate®) is a small molecule, selective and highly potent inhibitor of VEGFR 1, 2 and 3. VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in tumor-related angiogenesis, cutting off the blood supply that a tumor needs to grow rapidly. The global market for anti-angiogenesis therapies was estimated at over US$18 billion in 2017, including both monoclonal antibodies and small molecules approved in around 30 tumor settings. During the discovery research process, which began at Chi-Med in 2007, fruquintinib was successfully designed to be differentiated by improving kinase selectivity in comparison to other approved small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs), to minimize off-target toxicities, improve tolerability and provide more consistent target coverage, resulting in better clinical efficacy. The superior tolerability, along with fruquintinib’s low potential for drug-drug interaction based on preclinical assessment, suggests that it may be highly suitable for innovative combinations with other anti-cancer therapies.

In October 2013, Chi-Med entered into a licensing, co-development and commercialization agreement in China with Lilly for fruquintinib. Under the terms of the agreement, the costs of development of fruquintinib, carried out by Chi-Med, are shared; Chi-Med has received upfront payments and development and regulatory approval milestone payments; and upon commercialization in China, Chi-Med would receive royalties. Chi-Med and Lilly agreed to develop fruquintinib in three initial solid tumor indications, including CRC, NSCLC and gastric cancer.

The most common adverse reactions included hypertension, hand-foot syndrome and proteinuria. Clinically effective management of these adverse effects is feasible. For important safety information about fruquintinib, please see www.chi-med.com.

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med (AIM/Nasdaq: HCM) is an innovative biopharmaceutical company which researches, develops, manufactures and markets pharmaceutical products. Its Innovation Platform, Hutchison MediPharma, has about 400 scientists and staff focusing on discovering, developing and commercializing targeted therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. It has a portfolio of eight cancer drug candidates currently in clinical studies around the world. Chi-Med’s Commercial Platform manufactures, markets, and distributes prescription drugs and consumer health products, covering an extensive network of hospitals across China.

Dual-listed on the AIM market of the London Stock Exchange and the Nasdaq Global Select Market, Chi-Med is headquartered in Hong Kong and majority owned by the multinational conglomerate CK Hutchison Holdings Limited (SEHK: 1). For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect Chi-Med’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the ability of fruquintinib to gain commercial acceptance in China, the potential market of fruquintinib for patients with metastatic NSCLC or CRC who have failed two prior treatments in China, the ability for Chi-Med to quickly provide fruquintinib to patients by year end, and the clinical development of fruquintinib in other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding Chi-Med’s ability to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions, to commercialize fruquintinib, that the benefits obtained from fruquintinib during clinical trials will be the same for all patients who are prescribed fruquintinib, that no unidentified side effects will occur which could result in the NMPA pulling fruquintinib from the market and the sufficiency of funding to support commercialization of fruquintinib in metastatic CRC and the development of fruquintinib in other indications. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of Iressa® (gefitinib) or Taxol® (paclitaxel) as combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of Iressa® and Taxol®. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see Chi-Med’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. Chi-Med undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014.

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President, Corporate Finance & Development

+852 2121 8200

David Dible, Citigate Dewe Rogerson

+44 7967 566 919 (Mobile)

david.dible@citigatedewerogerson.com

Xuan Yang, Solebury Trout

+1 (415) 971 9412 (Mobile)

xyang@troutgroup.com

Media Enquiries

UK & Europe – Anthony Carlisle, Citigate Dewe Rogerson

+44 7973 611 888 (Mobile)

anthony.carlisle@cdrconsultancy.co.uk

Americas – Brad Miles, Solebury Trout

+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)

bmiles@troutgroup.com

Hong Kong & Asia ex-China – Joseph Chi Lo, Brunswick

+852 9850 5033 (Mobile)

jlo@brunswickgroup.com

Hong Kong & Asia ex-China – Zhou Yi, Brunswick

+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)

yzhou@brunswickgroup.com

Mainland China – Sam Shen, Edelman

+86 1367 179 1029 (Mobile)

sam.shen@edelman.com

Nominated Advisor

Richard Gray / Andrew Potts, Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited

+44 (20) 7886 2500