新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
創新平台, 監管信息公告 | 2015-03-30

呋喹替尼的首個概念驗證性(POC)臨床研究達到主要療效終點

2015 年3 月30 日:和黃醫藥今日宣布呋喹替尼以轉移性結直腸癌為適應症的首個概念驗證性(POC)臨床研究成功達到主要試驗終點。研究結果顯示該試驗成功地達到了無進展生存期的主要療效終點。

次要療效終點(包括客觀緩解率,疾病控制率以及總生存期)的評估工作目前正在開展中。此次概念驗證性研究證實呋喹替尼的安全性與之前的臨床試驗所獲得的數據相符,未出現超出預期的重大不良安全事件。試驗的詳細結果將於稍後公佈。

作為呋喹替尼的首個概念驗證性II期臨床研究,該試驗旨在比較呋喹替尼聯合最佳支持治療和安慰劑聯合最佳支持治療作為轉移性結直腸癌患者的三線或以上療法的藥效及安全性。該試驗為隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心臨床試驗.目標受試者為至少經過2 輪抗腫瘤治療失敗的轉移性結腸癌患者,曾用藥物包括奧沙利鉑和氟尿嘧啶類藥物及伊立替康。總計71名患者以2:1的比例隨機接受呋喹替尼聯合最佳支持治療或安慰劑聯合最佳支持治療。該試驗於2014年4月啟動,於同年8月完成受試者入組。

 

關於呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一種新型高選擇性抑制血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR1,2及3)的小分子化合物。在臨床I期試驗中有40名患者接受了呋喹替尼的給藥治療。和黃醫藥在2013年4月舉行的美國癌症研究協會(AACR)年會上公佈了I期臨床試驗的詳細結果,詳情請見:http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm。基於結直腸癌I期的臨床數據,Ib 期總計有62位結直腸癌患者參與了臨床試驗,Ib 期臨床試驗的詳細結果公佈於2014年5月舉行的美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)年會,詳情請見:http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm

2014年6月,和黃醫藥啟動了呋喹替尼治療非鱗狀非小細胞肺癌的II期臨床試驗,該臨床研究為隨機雙盲安慰劑對照的多中心驗證性臨床試驗。共有91名患者以2:1的比例隨機接受呋喹替尼聯合最佳支持治療或者安慰劑聯合最佳支持治療。呋喹替尼以非小細胞肺癌為適應症的II期臨床試驗已於2015年3月完成受試者入組,預計將於2015年中公佈試驗結果。

2014年10月,和黃醫藥啟動了呋喹替尼的Ib 期劑量探究臨床試驗,與紫杉醇聯合用藥治療二線胃癌患者。

同年12月,呋喹替尼以結直腸癌為適應症的中國III期臨床試驗(FRESCO)正式啟動。目標受試者為局部晚期或轉移性結直腸癌患者,這些受試者至少經過2 輪抗腫瘤治療的失敗,曾用藥物包括奧沙利鉑和氟尿嘧啶類藥物及伊立替康。該臨床研究中,約25家研究中心將入組超過400名受試者,研究結果預計將於2016年公佈。

2013年10月,和黃醫藥與美國禮來就呋喹替尼在中國的開發、審批和銷售正式簽署了協議。

 

關於血管細胞內皮生長因子受體(VEGF)和中國的結直腸癌現狀

癌症進入到晚期,腫瘤會分泌大量的蛋白配體血管細胞內皮生長因子(VEGF),以促進腫瘤組織周圍過度的脈管系統的生成(血管生成),為腫瘤細胞的生長提供更多的血流,氧氣和營養。VEGF和其受體VEGFR在腫瘤的血管生成中起到了至關重要的作用,因此,對VEGF/VEGFR相關通路的抑製成為了阻斷新生血管發展,防止腫瘤增長和侵入的一種新的治療策略。

結直腸癌是中國第三大最常見的惡性腫瘤。2012中國的結直腸癌患者人數預計達到了39萬例,年發病率佔癌症患者的10.2%,成為了繼肺癌,肝癌,胃癌和食道癌之後的第五大癌症致死原因。

截至目前,數種抗VEGF/VEGFR製劑對多種腫瘤類型顯示出臨床療效。縱觀中國癌症市場的規模和增長情況,未來幾年中國的VEGF/VEGFR抑製劑市場將飛速發展。

1 個附件
查看公告 (PDF)

News Archive
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Innovation Platform, RNS Announcements | 30 Mar 2015

The first proof-of-concept trial of fruquintinib achieves primary efficacy endpoint

London: Monday, 30 March 2015: Chi-Med, today announces that Hutchison MediPharma Limited (“HMP”), its majority owned drug R&D company, successfully achieved the primary endpoint in the first proof-of-concept (“POC”) trial of fruquintinib in patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (“mCRC”) in China. The top-line results demonstrated that the trial clearly succeeded in meeting the primary efficacy endpoint of progression free survival.

Assessment of secondary efficacy endpoints, including objective response rate, disease control rate, and overall survival is ongoing, with all appearing in-line with expectations at the February 2015 six-month data cut-off. The adverse events demonstrated in this POC study are consistent with the known safety profile for fruquintinib without major unexpected safety issues. Full detailed results from this trial will be disclosed in due course.

This is the first POC Phase II study for fruquintinib aimed at comparing the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib plus best supportive care (“BSC”) versus placebo plus BSC in patients with mCRC as a third-line or above therapy. It is a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-centre, POC Phase II study to treat mCRC patients who have failed at least two prior chemotherapies, including fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan. A total of 71 patients were randomised to receive fruquintinib plus BSC or placebo plus BSC at a 2:1 ratio. The trial was initiated in April 2014 and completed patient enrolment in August 2014.

Ends

Enquiries

Chi-Med
Christian Hogg, CEO
Telephone: +852 2121 8200

Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
Telephone: +44 20 7886 2500
Richard Gray
Andrew Potts

Citigate Dewe Rogerson
Telephone: +44 20 7638 9571
Anthony Carlisle
Mobile: +44 7973 611 888
David Dible
Mobile: +44 7967 566 919

Notes to Editors

About fruquintinib

Fruquintinib is designed to selectively inhibit vascular endothelial growth factor (“VEGF”) receptors, namely VEGFR1, VEGFR2, and VEGFR3. In the first-in-human Phase I clinical trial 40 patients were treated with fruquintinib. Detailed results of the Phase I clinical trial are available at http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm, and were presented at the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research in April 2013. Based on the Phase I data in mCRC, a Phase Ib study was initiated which treated a further 62 mCRC patients. Detailed results of the Phase Ib clinical trial were presented at the annual meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in May 2014, and also can be found at http://chi-med.com/eng/irinfo/presentations.htm.

In June 2014, HMP initiated the second POC Phase II study, which was a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-centre Phase II clinical trial targeted at patients with non-squamous non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”). A total of 91 patients were randomised to receive fruquintinib plus BSC or placebo plus BSC at a 2:1 ratio. The NSCLC POC Phase II study completed enrolment in March 2015, with top-line results expected in the mid of 2015.

In October 2014, HMP initiated a Phase Ib dose-finding study of fruquintinib, in combination with paclitaxel, in second line gastric cancer patients.

In December 2014, HMP initiated FRESCO, a Phase III registration study in patients with mCRC, who have failed at least two prior systemic antineoplastic therapies, including flouropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan. FRESCO will enrol more than 400 patients in 25 centres in China, with top-line results expected in 2016.

In October 2013, HMP entered into a licensing, co-development and commercialisation agreement with Eli Lilly and Company for fruquintinib.

About VEGF and colorectal cancer in China

At an advanced stage, tumours secrete large amounts of VEGF, a protein ligand, to stimulate formation of excessive vasculature (angiogenesis) around the tumour in order to provide greater blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the tumour. VEGF and VEGF receptors (“VEGFRs”) play a pivotal role in tumour-related angiogenesis, and inhibition of the VEGF/VEGFR pathway. This represents an exciting therapeutic strategy in blocking the development of new blood vessels essential for tumours to grow and invade.

In 2012, there were an estimated 390,000 cases of colorectal cancer diagnosed in China, 10.2% of the total China cancer incidence, making colorectal cancer the third most commonly diagnosed cancer in China. It was the fifth most common cause of cancer death in China after lung, liver, stomach and oesophagus cancer.

To date, several anti-VEGF/VEGFR agents have shown clinical efficacy against a number of tumour types. Given the scale and growth in the China oncology market, the market for VEGF/VEGFR inhibitors in China is expected to develop quickly in the next few years.

About HMP

HMP is a novel drug R&D company focusing on discovering, developing and commercialising innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. With a team of around 250 scientists and staff, its pipeline is comprised of novel oral compounds for cancer and inflammation in development in North America, Europe, Australia and Greater China.

HMP is majority owned by Chi-Med. For more information, please visit: www.hmplglobal.com.

About Chi-Med

Chi-Med is a China-based healthcare group focused on researching, developing, manufacturing and selling pharmaceuticals and health-related consumer products. Its Drug R&D Division focuses on discovering and developing innovative therapeutics in oncology and autoimmune diseases. Its China Healthcare Division manufactures, markets and distributes prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals in China. Its emerging Consumer Products Division focuses on organic and natural consumer products in Asia.

Chi-Med is majority owned by the multinational conglomerate Hutchison Whampoa Limited (SEHK:13). For more information, please visit: www.chi-med.com.